develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Not one of her best…

Since it seems at least some of my followers are interested in hearing about what I’ve recently read and my thoughts on it, here’s another instalment…(back-dated as I forgot to cross post here originally)

Note, all my reviews tend to contain at least minor spoilers, though I do try to keep them to a minimum.

Book details: The Secret His Mistress Carried by Lynne Graham (link is to Amazon UK) This one definitely has smut, so probably not safe for work.
My Rating: 1 star. (Yeah, it’s not a good one)
Summary: Hiding from the Greek…
The ink is barely dry on Giorgios Letsos’s divorce papers and there’s only one thing on this unstoppable Greek’s mind: finding Billie Smith, his mistress before his marriage. But the sweet, pliable woman he once knew slams the door in his face!
Billie has fought hard to heal her broken heart after Gio chose to marry someone else. When he storms back into her life she’s determined not to fall for his seduction again. Especially now that she has a secret to protect… their son.
But she hasn’t counted on just how badly he wants her back in his bed!

I’ve read several books by this author before and usually they’re very good. This one however is definitely not one of her best, mainly because the H is so unpleasant.

I realise he’s meant to be a classic alpha male (something I usually enjoy), but for well over 60% of the book he simply comes across as a manipulative, egotistical bully, with no apparent redeeming qualities, who repeatedly uses his ability to easily get the h into bed to get what he wants.

We do eventually get some back story which attempts to explain his behaviour, and he does eventually change his ways, but for me it was just too little, too late, because by then I’d spent so long wondering why she put up with him I would have been happy if the couple didn’t get their HEA at all.

So no, I wouldn’t recommend this one. There IS a happy ending, but you have to wade through so much strife to get there you’ll really only be happy to have reached the end.

February 13, 2016 - Posted by | Book Review, Random Thoughts |

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

