develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Photos part 2, New Who…

As promised, here’s part 2 of my sample photos taken at the Doctor Who Experience, these are off course all New Who related…

That’s it for now, so if you’ll excuse me, me and my painful wisdom tooth are off to go sit quietly and whimper a bit. If there’s a particular monster, or Doctor you’d like that I didn’t post though, let me know and I’ll see what I can do. I have a pic of all the Doctors outfits, and quite a few monsters.

June 17, 2011 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts |

6 Comments

  1. Now these outfits I recognize most, and I love the Cybermen (for the many episodes around their stories, loved Rose and Pete, the Xmas, doomsday etc,…). I think they’re my favorite because of that.

    I do know the older outfits from the earlier post. I was 10ish in the early 70s and only caught an occasional older episode of DW when my bother would babysit me, he’d let me stay up late. Not sure, but the show was likely played once a week, very late Saturday, that’s when he let me stay up and watch B/W monster movies on TV often (and they would scare me for days later, like mom warned LOL). I hated it when my mom was right.

    Comment by wish_it_would | June 18, 2011

    • Oh I remember most of the older stuff quite well, I used to watch it with my dad when I was little. My interest in all things horror and sci-fi was sparked by watching stuff with him Saturday teatime, early evening. DW aired at around 6:00pm here when we watched it back then

      I also saw the occasional late film when he let me stay up too 🙂 I don’t recall every being really scared of the stuff we watched, but that might have been because of who I was watching with.

      Comment by develish1 | June 18, 2011

  2. Thanks for posting these (and the previous post, of course)! Are there any original constumes and monsters or are they made for the Experience? I had quite forgotten than greenish thingy Nine weared. Did he really? Oh, I need to see some of the old (from my point of view 😉 ) episodes.

    You know, I fell in love with sci-fi when I was 10ish as well but I started with reading books. For quite a while my sci-fi world consisted only of Clifford Simak, Isaak Asimov and the dozens of sci-fi novels my father was constantly buying. I had forgotten how much I liked it until I rediscovered it on TV…

    Comment by Belle D`Arcy | June 19, 2011

    • Most of the display pieces are actual props used in the show, which is why they keep plenty of staff on hand to stop you touching them, loll. some of the older stuff they’ve had to replicate of course, but surprising there were very items that stated they were replicas.

      As I sais in my earlier reply to Wish, above, my dad was my influence as far as sci-fi went too, although he wasn’t much of a reader, so with us it was TV and films we shared.

      Comment by develish1 | June 19, 2011

  3. Lol! While I’m not as much of a fan as you are, I have some photos from long long ago taken at a Dr Convention at Longleat… and a very old Tardis console and d’you know what? I don’t think the new one’s much of an improvement. 😉

    By the way, I surfed in via your post in the forum on the new comment buttons, and I’m with you entirely!

    Comment by Val | June 19, 2011

    • Hi Val,

      thanks for dropping by, I’d love to see your photos at some point. this is the first time I’ve had chance to go to something like this and get close up to the props and costumes. It was quite an experience, that’s for sure.

      As for the new comment box, well I think you know my thoughts, the phrase “bloody awful” springs readily to mind. I’ve just had to clear a comment I made over an hour ago out of the box before I could reply to you.

      Comment by develish1 | June 19, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

