develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

They’re actually trying to give me a headache, right?

Anyone who uses Twitter, or reads certain sites, will no doubt already be aware of this, but I’m in need of a little rant so here goes….

Are they actually TRYING to kill Doctor Who? They certainly seem to be trying to piss off the fans, at least it looks that way to many of them right now judging by the comments I’ve been reading for the last few hours.

For those who have no idea what I’m going on about, I’ll try to explain. Various people at the BBC have let slip various little bits of info in public during the last 24 hours or so, the result of which seems to suggest that all we’re getting for the next TWO years as far as DW goes, is a few specials, and maybe a short season, but no proper full season.

Assorted quotes, and links to several other articles and such, can be found here, but the main points are as follows;
They have commissioned 14 more episodes in total, but this includes this years Christmas Special.
There will NOT be a full season next year, but there will be “a special run for the anniversary in 2013”

Now I can count, as can all of you, and since a normal season is 13 episode long, if they’ve only commissioned 14, once the Christmas special is out of the way they only have 13 left., so presumably we’re only getting a few specials in 2012 (as we did in 2009) and something similar in 2013.

As you’d expect, Twitter was on fire earlier today/yesterday when this broke, with even the likes of SFX magazine getting in on the act by tweeting “Can anyone hear the cloister bell?”

Despite my own growing disdain for the way Moffat is taking the show, I still don’t want to think of it fizzling out over the next couple of years. I’ve been a fan for far too long to not want to see it continue, but this news is worrying to say the least. After the split season this year, which has already angered many fans, cutting it down by half again for the next two years seems to me like they’re preparing for the end and perhaps planning to go out with a bang on 23 Nov 2013.

I hope I’m wrong, really I do, but Moffat has proven me right before, unfortunately. I think I need a Doctor, or maybe two….

June 15, 2011 - Posted by | A Bit Of A Rant, Picture Of The Day | , ,

2 Comments

  1. So, does it have anything to do with Sherlock or not? I haven’t read a lot on the topic but I guess I won’t learn a lot more than what I already know – these will be some weird times for DW. I’m disappointed, of course, by how random the episodes seem to be situated in time. I am also not sure if I love Moffat’s ‘bigger scale’ or hate his off-canon moments. I suppose the more I learn about DW the pickier I become.

    I still enjoy thinking about the second series of Sherlock, though 🙂

    Comment by Belle D`Arcy | June 16, 2011

    • It’s tough to tell what’s behind all this, as aside from a couple of small comments the BBC have gone silent again. Personally, I suspect it’s a funding issue rather than anything else.

      I know what you mean about the whole timey wimey thing, it was a fun idea, but it’s been done to death now and I’m starting to find it boring to be honest. I just wish they get on with things, you know? As for the canon rewriting, don’t get me started, we’d be here hours, lol

      Comment by develish1 | June 16, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

