develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

There’s nothing like a bit of publicity huh?

And so it begins. (Sorry, had a B5 moment there) Today see’s several supposed “news” outlets featuring a story criticising the new BBC drama United…

Am I the only one thinking it’s terribly suspicious, not to mention an apparently blatant attempt at “headline grabbing”, that mere days before it’s due to air, Sir Matt Busby’s son is being quoted as “furious” over the way his father is portrayed in the film?

Perhaps I’m doing the man a disservice, but I don’t think so. Despite having had a very long time now in which to approach the BBC and and discuss his concerns, or offer assistance to ensure the films accuracy, he’s chosen to do none of these things. Instead, he’s speaking out now, at a time that will gain him the most headlines. His biggest complaint it seems, is regarding his outfit. Really? That’s the best you can come up with?

“The film-makers have put my dad in an overcoat and a trilby hat. He looks more like a gangster than a football manager.”

Because of course Sir Matt never wore such a thing, did he? No, it’s all in the mind of some random wardrobe person, right?

                           

See, no trilby or overcoat in sight anywhere is there? Perhaps I’m being overly suspicious, but the the BBC no doubt did at least some research, they’d be stupid not to with such sensitive subject matter. Plus it’s been stated in several articles months ago that they did indeed speak to many of the remaining survivors and family members. So to me this sounds rather like sour grapes, and leaves me wondering if perhaps his son refused to participate at the time, and is now a little pissed that he’s getting no publicity as a result.

Okay, I think that’s enough of my sarcastic little rant. On to today’s picture, which is utterly random and not even remotely United related…

April 22, 2011 - Posted by | A Bit Of A Rant, Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , ,

2 Comments

  1. Yeah this was a disgrace – not that programme. He really should be ashamed.

    I do love that Recovery pic – if my tearducts hadn’t already been severely overworked recently I’d watch it again.

    Altogether, now:

    # “You do something to me, something deep inside”

    Comment by whogal | May 3, 2011

    • it truly was a disgrace, because I now know that he definitely would have been contacted asking for thoughts, comments etc while it was being made.

      I know someone who’s uncle was one of the reporters who died in the crash, and even she was contacted, so there’s no way they’d have left out Sir Matt’s son

      Comment by develish1 | May 3, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

