develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Another loss to the Who universe…

It appears the Who universe has lost another long time member today….

According to an article over at BBC News….

A BBC spokesman said: “It is with much sadness that we can announce Elisabeth Sladen, the much-loved actress best known for her role as Sarah Jane Smith in Doctor Who and CBBC’s The Sarah Jane Adventures, passed away this morning. She was 63”

There’s also an article and sound clip from RTD discussing how he felt on hearing the news, and talking about working with her in recent years, you can find that here.

My thoughts go out to her family and friends.

There’s also a statement, and many comments from those who worked with her on DW and SJA, including DT, over at the official BBC site

April 19, 2011 - Posted by | Random Thoughts | , ,

8 Comments

  1. Only 63… May she rest in peace, for she has brought us great joy over the years. I have only recently started watching the old DW series, but I have grown quite fond of the Sarah Jane Adventures and I really liked her in the new DW series… Maybe it’s time I saw a bit more of Elisabeth Sladen. What would you recommend?

    Comment by Belle | April 19, 2011

    • oh do try to find all the classic stuff with her in it, you’ll love it I’m sure.

      Her first appearance…

      From episode 1 of “The Time Warrior”

      Comment by develish1 | April 20, 2011

  2. Oh I’m SO sad. I bet Tom Baker is devastated and I’m sure DT will be very sad. She was my first Companion. She seemed, in SJA to have a lot of strength but gentleness, too and I reckon that was what she was really like. I have a CD anout the ‘reboot’ of DS narrated by Lis so i’ll listen to it tonight. RIP Lis. Xx

    Comment by whogal | April 20, 2011

    • I should think DT is feeling sad about it, she was his first companion too. He was a total fan boy about getting to work with her on DW too.

      Comment by develish1 | April 20, 2011

      • Yeah, of course. It’s such a shame – and so young, too.

        I would’ve loved to have seen the look on his face when she first appeared! 🙂 It was lovely when The Doctor was totally goofy over her in School Reunion!

        Comment by whogal | April 20, 2011

        • I’m not at all sure that goofiness was entirely scripted, I think some of it was just him, lol

          Comment by develish1 | April 20, 2011

  3. You’re probably right – remember what he was like when he saw Davros for the first time?! 🙂

    Comment by whogal | April 21, 2011

    • oh yes, such a total fanboy, lol

      Comment by develish1 | April 21, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

