develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Is the BBC trying to kill me?

Yes, I know, it’s not personal, they’re just doing their own thing, and the fact that they’re driving me mad in the process is hardly their fault, but still…

I’m looking forward to some of the new stuff coming up at the BBC, not least because it has some of my favourite men in it, but they seem to be trying to make things hard for me.

See, there’s CE looking intense, and DT looking emotional, what’s not to love? Well mostly the fact that I’m told some idiot at the BBC thinks it’s a good idea to broadcast two brand new shows with DT in them, on the same day, at the same TIME!

Please tell me I’m not the only one thinking this sounds rather crazy? Oh for those who aren’t aware, it seems that BBC Radio 3 have decided to air Kafka The Musical at 8pm, on 24 April. Guess when United is supposed to be on BBC2? Yep, 8pm, on 24 April. *shakes head*

I know there’s iplayer, so I’ll be able to catch whichever one I don’t catch on the night that way, but not everyone has access to that. I just can’t get my head around the thinking behind this at all. Has it not occurred to anyone in the scheduling departments, that airing two shows where the same actor takes the lead role in both, is going to split the fan base of that actor and reduce viewing/listening figures for both shows? Are they trying to encourage people to share illegal copies of the damn things?

I need more coffee I think, but before I go here’s today’s picture, a slightly cleaned up version of a screen cap I did myself from the above clip…

April 14, 2011 - Posted by | A Bit Of A Rant, Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , , , ,

12 Comments

  1. B*stards. That is all.

    Comment by whogal | April 14, 2011

  2. Actually, it’s not all. GRR Barrowman!! NO FAIR, BBC! What do you think we are – Time Lords and Ladies? What do you expect us to do, exactly, listen/watch one, go back in time in our TARDISes (TARDII??) and then watch/listen to the other one??!
    What about those obsessives (me) who record just about ANYTHING DT is in, however short?!
    As Dad from Friday Night Dinner would say; “Sh*t on it!”

    Comment by whogal | April 14, 2011

    • You’re not alone I assure you. I record stuff too, not for sharing, but just so I have copies of things I can keep for myself. It’s a wise thing to do with the BBC it seems, as you can never be sure what they will actually release on DVD later. There’s still no sign of Recovery for instance. In this case though I have limited options.

      I can record decent quality TV (we have a DVR) and can then put it on a disc for myself with very little effort. Recording Radio is a more complicated affair as it means using software on hubby’s laptop that I’m not at all familiar with, and he wont be here.

      So I’ll be watching AND recording United, and hoping someone, somewhere will share a copy of Kafka with me.

      And probably swearing a lot at the BBC the whole time

      Comment by develish1 | April 14, 2011

  3. I doubt we’ll EVER see Recovery on DVD – but that doesn’t mean I’ve given up hope. I may even have to contact Mr Weller himself and see if he knows of any problem.

    I THINK Kafka the Musical is on at 8 and United is on at 9, but as I don’t know how long the former is, it doesn’t help much. GRR!

    I am VERY lucky (and probably spoilt!) The Christmas before last Daddy bought his little girl a wonderful TV/PC/Hard Drive which is pretty amazing – it is pretty much Freeview with recording facility. It’s great.

    But I STILL can’t easily record two things at once. I COULD record Kafka on my trusty video recorder via my Freeview on the other TV – in fact, that’s probably what I will do, although the quality will suffer somewhat. I think I’ll have to buy a brand new video tape (can you still get those??!) to record it on.

    Comment by whogal | April 14, 2011

    • I tried contacting the BBC to ask about Recovery. I got bounced from department to department through half a dozen emails, and finally got told to contact the distribution side, which is actually a third party.

      Problem is, none of their email addresses (even those given to me by people who worked for the BBC) actually worked, so at that point I hit a brick wall.

      I do have a rather poor copy that I *cough* acquired via means I wont discuss, but I’d really love to actually buy a proper one, and can’t.

      I could in theory record Kafka using hubby’s laptop, but a) I’m not sure how, and b) I don’t like using it anyway as it’s pretty new and was damn expensive, so I’m scared of messing something up.

      I could get him to download it from iplayer I suppose, but when they offer a download option, they usually have an expiration date built it, so, dubious copies are my only option it seems

      Comment by develish1 | April 14, 2011

      • Shame you got the runaround about Recovery – it could do so much good for people – raise a lot of money for Headway. Instead of which we have no recourse but to watch it on You Tube or by other foul means. Makes no sense.

        Comment by whogal | April 17, 2011

  4. I just wait for stuff I like to show up on DVD or On Demand- I hate commercials so I hardly ever watch network TV anymore

    Comment by Anita Marie | April 14, 2011

    • well thankfully the BBC still remains ad-less here in the UK, so that’s not a problem with stuff like this, the time clash though most definitely is

      Comment by develish1 | April 14, 2011

  5. Heh – I wondered if DT would be showing off his Welsh accent 🙂 Having practically lived there for years he should be pretty good at it.

    (I’m a pretty good mimic myself but Welsh is the accent that’s always stumped me!)

    Comment by Caz | April 14, 2011

    • I’m not good with accents, unless I’m with someone with that accent, then I can mimic quite well.

      As you say though, he spent quite a few years surrounded by people with the accent, so I expect for him it comes fairly easily.

      Comment by develish1 | April 14, 2011

    • You need to hear his Richard Burton impression Caz – it’s hilarious! 🙂

      Comment by whogal | April 17, 2011

  6. I did get a funny feeling in my tummy when I saw that trailer and saw DT on my screen – it’s lovely when it’s unexpected.

    Comment by whogal | April 17, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

