develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

I am confused…

And yes, before anyone decides to point it out, I know that happens rather a lot to me. This time though I blame the BBC…

The reason is, I decided to order a few more DW figures, in order to at least partly complete my collection. I have a nice assortment of New Who ones now you see, but felt there were a few things lacking. So, I’ve ordered a Nine, and a freshly regenerated Ten still wearing Nine’s clothes. I decided I also needed some EOT ones too, so I chose the Master and Rassilon, and here’s where my confusion kicked in.

Because according to my recollection, in the first part of TEOT it’s not made too clear exactly who the character is that Timothy Dalton is portraying, but he is clearly identified in part two, by name. Specifically, the Doctor himself turns to him and addresses his as Rassilon (see above clip from the NTA ceremony), and you can’t get much clearer than that right? So why does the officially licensed merchandise insist on calling him simply The Narrator?

So off I went to check the episode credits (apologies for the really crappy pics but they’re screen grabs taken from an online copy for the sake of speed) and found that yes, in TEOT part 1 he is referred to as The Narrator in the credits, presumably because we haven’t been properly introduced yet. In the credits for TEOT part 2 though, he’s referred to simply as Lord President. So now I’m even more confused. Does this means the BBC themselves don’t know who the hell he is despite the dialogue?

Okay, I think that’s enough head shaking for one day. Let’s find something that isn’t at all confusing, and is also nice too look at…

December 9, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , ,

7 Comments

  1. Could I love DT any more?! *sigh*

    Comment by whogal | December 9, 2010

    • I know! There’s just something about that picture that does things to me 😉

      Comment by develish1 | December 9, 2010

      • Actually I think it was the clip that made me say that, but I do love that pic, obviously! 🙂 3 DTs for the price of 1!

        Comment by whogal | December 12, 2010

  2. wow… you said enough head shaking and then you posted this pic… and now i’m shaking all over 😀

    Comment by Belle | December 10, 2010

    • ah but that’s much better, surely? lol

      Comment by develish1 | December 10, 2010

  3. Yeah, I always thought he was Rassilon. Someone is obviously confused…

    Also, I watched one of the other clips – specifically the one where DT made the presentation to Stephen Fry’s “America”. That was an awesome series! Beautifully done!

    And the last picture… you always save the best for last, don’t you? *drools*

    Comment by Jacy | December 13, 2010

    • well after all that head shaking I figured you all deserved something special, and that pic certainly fits

      Comment by develish1 | December 13, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

