develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

TV, Radio and a pic or two…

I come bearing news of DT on both TV and Radio next week here in the UK. And I brought a couple of nice pictures too of course…

Okay, first, for those who don’t already know, there’s a repeat of How Roald Dahl Shaped Pop, on BBC Radio 2, Mon 22 Nov, 22:00 to 23:00, which is narrated by David. According to the BBC “David Tennant narrates a tale of the unexpected – the stamp Roald Dahl left on the world of pop”. More info about the show can be found here.

 

Also starting Mon 22 Nov, and running through to Fri 26 Nov, you can hear 15 minutes of David reading Book at Bedtime over on BBC Radio 4, at 22:45 each night. This weeks theme is A Night with a Vampire, during which David will be reading “five disturbing Victorian Vampire stories”. Now correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t bedtime reading supposed to be relaxing? I just don’t see vampires (hardly soothing) being read by David (also sure to raise the blood pressure) leading to a good nights sleep. More info in this show here.

 

Going slightly off topic now, did you know you can still listen to DT on Desert Island Discs (originally recorded Dec 2009) via iplayer? No me neither, but you can apparently. Info and a link can be found here.

original screen grab from courtesy of Tennant Photos

Okay, back to what I was actually intending to tell you, which is that David is also on TV in the UK next week, in something I know many haven’t had a chance to see yet. Foyle’s War – Episode 2, A Lesson in Murder. This is a feature-length episode of the drama about a detective working on the south coast during World War II. You can catch this on Monday 22nd November at 9:00pm on ITV3, or there’s a repeat scheduled for Saturday 27th November at 11:20am on ITV3 if you’re like me and the Monday one clashes with other things.

And finally for today, another picture, even though I’ve already thoroughly spoiled you all picture-wise today as it is. Since we’ve already have an assortment on non-Doctor pics though, it’s only right we end the day with a Doctor one, besides, this one is so damn cute…

 

November 18, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts, UK TV Listings | , ,

20 Comments

  1. Barefoot, lying down… a chair…

    Never mind me… I’ll be over here being quiet for a bit… 😀

    Comment by Jacy | November 18, 2010

    • you all right over there love? don’t dribble on your keyboard again will you, you’ll need it later

      Comment by develish1 | November 18, 2010

  2. *cries* I’m pictureless again! 😥 And one of those is one of my fave pics! *sniff*

    BUT I’m gonna listen to Double Income, No Kids Yet (AKA DINKY) on Radio 7 tonight, so that may console me…

    Thanks so much for all the info on where I can hear/see DT – can’t get enough of that man… In fact, I don’t think there IS any such thing as enough of him…

    I’m thrilled I can finally listen to his D.I.D. – I’ve been wanting to for ages and was discussing that very thing only today. The guy I was talking to said that he sounded like a really lovely ordinary guy, and the D.I.D. just goes to prove it, so I’ve been told.

    And, finally, I’m still humming and hawing over whether to spend a lot of money on a ticket to this: http://www.oldvictheatre.com/whatson.php?id=73 cos DT may or may not be there… Oh, decisions, decisions…

    Comment by whogal | November 18, 2010

    • no pics again? awww, come back later then, you don’t want to miss them 🙂

      £75? erm, no, not even thinking about that one

      Comment by develish1 | November 18, 2010

  3. *WIBBLE* x 4

    oh my Lord! What are you trying to do to me?!

    Needless to say I LOVE the Hamlet ones, but the other ones are lovely too – I do love a smiley David, and suffering DT is so HAWT! I know, it’s bad!

    Oh and yesterday? Didn’t bother – and I’m glad I didn’t cos DT wasn’t there.

    Comment by whogal | November 22, 2010

  4. Oooh, I forgot to say – I’m a bit cross with the BEEB cos they have David on TWICE tonight and the first one clashes with Foyle’s War (in fact they may BOTH).

    It’s called How Roald Dahl Shaped Pop – weird, huh?!

    http://www.radiotimes.com/ListingsServlet?event=10&channelId=53&programmeId=146622036&jspLocation=/jsp/prog_details_fullpage.jsp

    Maybe I’ll wait for Thursday to watch/record Foyle’s War – I just hope I don’t forget. My memory is so bad. 😦

    Comment by whogal | November 22, 2010

    • did my pics distract you so badly you didn’t read the post? lol 😉

      Foyle’s War get’s a repeat on Saturday 27th November at 11:20am on ITV3

      Comment by develish1 | November 22, 2010

  5. Don’t worry, I recorded Foyle’s War – forwent the pleasure of recording DT reading the Book at Bedtime to me – so listened live, when I managed to tune the darned thing.

    Am trying to shut out all the clamour here – and so listening to D.I.D.

    Honestly, I wonder to myself – could I possibly love DT any more…? and then he does soemthing like this which makes me fall all over again! His voice is so lovely and soft, here, and he’s so real (apart from flirting with kirsty Young, that is!)

    What a lovely, charming, good man.

    Comment by whogal | November 24, 2010

    • you know what? I haven’t listened to that one yet myself either *slaps self* I really must get around to it before it vanishes

      Comment by develish1 | November 24, 2010

      • It’s wonderful and if I can work out how to save it, I will.

        He just sounds so…. lovely! That’s such an inadequate word. I think all words are, for him!

        I wish I were someone like Lewis Carroll or Roald Dahl – they’d just make one up. I used to do that as a kid. I guess as an adult, unless you’re like them, you lose the ability (unless you make one up accidentally, or to cover up the fact that you can’t remember the name for something!)

        Maybe that’s a challenge for the Absolute DT Fangirls – find an adequate word to describe him?

        Actually, I think simply “divine” works.

        Comment by whogal | November 24, 2010

        • which reminds me, I said I’d make a new icon to use at livejournal, with the tag “thinking woman’s crumpet” lol

          Comment by develish1 | November 24, 2010

  6. Thank you, SO much, for the D.I.D. link – I just finished listening to it.

    I’m now feeling so emotional…

    Comment by whogal | November 26, 2010

    • I still can’t believe how I just stumbled across it while I was getting info about the other radio shows. I’m very pleased I did though 🙂

      Comment by develish1 | November 26, 2010

      • Oh, so am I! It was really wonderful.

        He is so cute and funny!

        I’m glad I listened to it last night, actually because I picked up a book in WH Smith yesterday about DT and I wished I hadn’t.

        There was the inevitable stuff about his love life and somebody (who wasn’t named I don’t think) said that he is the most important thing in his life, and he’ll be with someone if it’s convenient.

        Well, that’s about as far off what I know about him as you can get. I don’t think you can disguise goodness – I know he’s an actor and so he’s probably skilled at making you feel whatever he might want you to feel, but in a picture, well, they say the camera doesn’t lie, and he often looks so kind and gentle, so I prefer to believe that.

        I can’t remember the title or the author – maybe just as well! There are other good books, and some truly lousy ones, too. Caveat emptor.

        Comment by whogal | November 26, 2010

        • sadly that’s often the case with books “about” people.

          They’re rarely written with anything other in mind than making money, so any genuine quote they do get are either used totally out of context, or come from people with an axe to grind, as they sell more copies.

          Comment by develish1 | November 26, 2010

  7. That’s very true. I’ll check out Amazon again later, because apart from A Life in the Spotlight which I already have I know there’s another good one out there, somewhere…

    Comment by whogal | November 26, 2010

    • don’t forget to give us all a link if you find one 🙂

      Comment by develish1 | November 26, 2010

  8. OK, will do!

    Comment by whogal | November 26, 2010

  9. http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/tv/news/a293826/gary-barlow-to-read-cbeebies-bedtime-story.html

    Never mind Gary Barlow – DT IS GONNA BE IN THE CHAIR AGAIN! SQUEEEEE!

    Ahem. Sorry. *goes to sit in the naughty corner*

    Comment by whogal | December 17, 2010

    • and breeeeeath, lol.

      Comment by develish1 | December 17, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

