develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

They’re trying to confuse me, right?

Is it just me? Why does it seem like every time a company decides to “make a few changes” to their service, they do so in a way that seems deliberately jarring?

You all know what I mean I’m sure, you go to a website you’ve been using for years, only to find they’ve upgraded (supposedly) to make things easier for you, and invariably it actually makes things harder, or in many cases uglier. Yes I’m ranting again, sorry. It’s a silly thing this time really, but it’s annoyed me. Photobucket have “made a few changes” to “improve your experience” and it’s bugging me.

Now I’m sure they’ve added some funky new features, or made the existing features easier to use, but I haven’t looked properly yet. Mainly because the most obvious change is fidgeting me. The basic layout has been reversed you see. In the past, the ads and all the little code boxes, tools etc where in a thin panel on the left of my screen. Now that panel is on the right. Like I said, it’s a little thing, but it’s irritating me as I’m so used to going to the left for some things and the right for others.

And speaking of things that bug me, I’ve got another one of those “where the hell did that come from” pictures, so ladies, where does this comes from?

 

And to thank you for all the masses of replies I’m going to get *cough* here’s a little something to inspire you to stay and stare for a while…

November 17, 2010 - Posted by | A Bit Of A Rant, Picture Of The Day | , , ,

9 Comments

  1. Hello!

    Well, I, too, get discomknockerated when something like that happens; it takes me ages to get used to changes in routine. And it IS annoying when they mess with things and put them in another place – a total timewaster.

    As for the pic, I can only assume, unless The Hand of Fear materialised in Ten’s days, that it’s from The Fires of Pompeii, cos that’s the most likely place to find statues like that – oooh, unless one of the Weeping Angels from Blink fell to pieces at his breathtaking beauty….

    And as for Hamlet… What a naughty boy he is! 🙂 Not that I’m complaining, of course!

    Comment by whogal | November 17, 2010

    • I’m sure I’ll get used to it, but for now it’s annoying me as I keep going to the wrong spot on screen to do stuff.

      Maybe I should ask hubby about that pic? He helped me figure out the catflap one. I’m not sure my geekiness can handle admitting there’s another one I can’t identify though, lol

      Comment by develish1 | November 17, 2010

  2. I wonder if he said:

    “Don’t worry, she’s armless?!”

    *sidles out of the room, slowly*

    I’ll fetch my coat. “TAXI”!

    Comment by whogal | November 17, 2010

  3. I’m fairly confident about it being Pompeii though…

    Comment by whogal | November 17, 2010

    • I’m thinking it might be a deleted scene now, as I found some screen grabs that have the same background from the Pompeii ep and he is holding the arm, but when I dug the DVD out he doesn’t actually study the arm in the ep.

      Comment by develish1 | November 17, 2010

  4. I’m with you on the way the ubiquitous “they” change things for the sake of change and screw everything up!

    It’s Lucius’ arm, definitely. From “Fires of Pompeii”. After the Doctor and Quintus find the component thingy…

    And the conversation went like this:

    Quintus: He’s stone!
    The Doctor: (as he tosses the arm back to Lucius) Armless enough, though!

    😀

    Comment by Jacy | November 18, 2010

    • I wasn’t aware there was anything wrong with it before. I have noticed one thing new though, we now get video ads, with annoyingly loud sound, every time we upload anything, or at least I did on the laptop, haven’t tried on here where I’ve got my ad-blocker in place yet.

      Comment by develish1 | November 18, 2010

    • Oh dear, how did I know that “armless” gag would come up?!

      You may be right, Dev, it may have been deleted – a rogue Cyberman, maybe?! 😉

      Comment by whogal | November 18, 2010

  5. oh joy, I’ve just discovered something else about the new “updates” to the photobucket site…..not only do we now get ads, with sound, at annoying intervals, and have to leave an album in order to add new pictures to that album (don’t ask me, I’m still bemused on that one) but it now no longer works properly with the Chrome browser.

    I’ve always used Chrome there before and never had a single issue, and according to their “help” section (I use that term loosely) Chrome is supposedly still supported.

    Oh yes, it works fine, so long as you only want to view page one of an album. Try to view page 2, 3, or 4 and it shows it you for about half a second, then the page auto-refreshes and takes you back to page one. Very useful that.

    Comment by develish1 | November 18, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

