develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Chris is speaking out again…

It seems Chris Eccleston has been voicing his views again, and although some have accused him (no pun intended) of just trying to get publicity I have to say in this case I totally agree with him…

In an interview given to the Daily Record recently, he made what’s being called “a scathing attack on Simon Cowell and the makers of the X Factor, accusing them of contempt for their audiences.” You can read the full article here, and I certainly recommend it as it also includes additional comments about Accused, which is on BBC1 tonight at 9:00pm. Here’s a snippet though;

“It’s cheap, ritualised humiliation, celebrates total mediocrity and encourages sneering at people. It puts the emphasis on being famous rather then being good.

When I was at drama school, people didn’t talk openly about wanting to be famous. We might have thought about it to a certain extent, but we really wanted to be good more than famous. But these people are chasing fame for its own sake. That’s vacuous.”

I have to say that I agree with him. I saw all of 5 minutes of the show recently and couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Why do people continue to put themselves through the farce of appearing on it, and more to the point why on earth does it still have such a sizeable audience?

November 15, 2010 - Posted by | Random Thoughts | ,

3 Comments

  1. I actually agree with him- I don’t think TV makes anybody’s life better- but if you work on it, I would think you would want to put your best efforts forward.

    Comment by Anita Marie | November 15, 2010

  2. You tell ’em, Christopher!

    Reality tv will ultimately cause the end of civilization as we know it… *lol*

    I am proud to say that I have never watched… oh, what is the name of the one here in the States that Cowell is part of? I have so completely blocked it from my conscious brain… Don’t watch any of them, really. And the potential humiliation factor is the main reason why. Yeah, the contestants must have some idea what they are letting themselves in for but that wouldn’t stop me from cringing for them, and I just don’t want to go there.

    Let me enjoy good drama or light, extemporaneous comedy. Informative things on History or TLC or Discovery or PBS. And, of course, Doctor Who… 😀

    Comment by Jacy | November 16, 2010

    • I couldn’t agree more. I really can’t stand the current fascination with “Reality TV”. To me it’s just lazy programming from companies who can’t be arsed to actually employ script writers and proper actors etc.

      Comment by develish1 | November 16, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

