develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

A bit of another ex-Doctor on TV…

I posted a link to a video some time ago showing a bunch of clips from various new shows that the BBC had planned for their Autumn schedule, and commented at the time how many Doctors were in them…

Well we’ve seen Single Father now, but the next show that some of you might be interested in watching is due next week. Christopher Eccleston stars in episode one of Jimmy McGovern’s new six part BBC1 drama series Accused. Each episode begins with a character facing a court verdict. We then see their story play out in the wider world before returning for the outcome at the end of the film, having finally learned what they are accused of.

original image copyright BBC (click image to view others)

There’s an interesting article about the show, which also includes an interview with Chris, here and I do recommend reasding it. Here’s a snippet though to whet your appetite..

“Christopher Eccleston insists. “I’ve worked solidly in television, film and theatre for the last 21 years. I’ve no idea what the real world’s like.”

The Salford actor has a nice line in modesty as he teams up again with award-winning writer Jimmy McGovern, the creator of Cracker, Hillsborough and so much more.

“Jimmy has the magic of making average actors like me look good,” says Eccleston, who takes the lead in the first episode of Accused (BBC1, Monday, 9pm).”

There’s also another slightly older interview with him over at the BBC’s site here, along with more information, and pictures. again this is worth a read if you have time.

 

There’s also need a bit more news, or perhaps rumour, surfacing about the BBC film United, which tells the story of the Munich air disaster. It’s still being stated that DT has a role, but now, it’s now the information includes which role he has, so maybe this one is more truth than rumour? The article is over at the Daily Mails website. Now don’t sh0ot me for this, but having seen the photo in that article of the character he’s supposed to play, I actually think CE would have been better for the role, what with the nose an ears…

 

And finally for today, a picture. A very cute and smiley picture to be precise, because when can’t we deal with one of those? Thuds at the ready ladies…

November 12, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts, UK TV Listings | ,

10 Comments

  1. *sqees over CE*

    Yes, I’m going to be begging for someone to upload that episode of “Accused” to MU! You know how much I love Christopher Eccleston!

    I’m off to work, now… otherwise I’d be diving headfirst into those interviews!

    Oh, and messy-hair, smiling, scruffy DT for the win!! *thud*

    Comment by Jacy | November 12, 2010

    • Thought you’d be interested 🙂

      Do check out those articles when you have time, the CE ones especially make interesting reading, the United one too.

      Comment by develish1 | November 12, 2010

      • Awesome articles… I’m so glad you linked them…

        Comment by Jacy | November 13, 2010

        • thanks 🙂

          wonder if I have to give my “DTfangirl” membership back after my comment about CE looking more like Murphy than DT does though, lol

          Comment by develish1 | November 13, 2010

  2. OOOH! *THUD*! He looks so cute there, like a widdle fwffy chick! Ahem. Sorry. But DT does look lovely.

    And I’m very interested in The Accused, I really like Jimmy McGovern’s work.

    I haven’t read much (if anything) about United, but as there’s so much around I guess I may as well, I can’t really escape it.

    I’m glad DT’s keeping busy… I just don’t want him to be TOO busy, and burn himself out.

    Comment by whogal | November 13, 2010

    • a “widdle fwffy chick” huh? erm…ok…lol

      Comment by develish1 | November 13, 2010

  3. Wow, I THINK I just read that David Blair’s directing The Accused (or, at least, CE’s one). That’s fantastic, he’s an amazing director, as anyone who’s seen Takin’ Over the Asylum will testify.

    Comment by whogal | November 13, 2010

    • I’m still feeling sorry for Jacy, who wont be able to see it till who knows when

      Comment by develish1 | November 13, 2010

      • Yes, that move to the UK is looking better and better… *lol*

        Comment by Jacy | November 14, 2010

        • if it comes down to it love, I’ll post you a damn disc

          Comment by develish1 | November 14, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

