develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

I didn’t think of that…

I’ve seen a few comments around the web in the last couple of days, and had a few questions directed my own way too, from those outside the UK, asking “So what’s with the poppies exactly?”…

 

Then I noticed that one of my Twitter/lj friends was using a Youtube video to help explain it. Since most of my readers are DW fans anyway I thought I’d share the clip too…

In brief, Remembrance Day is observed in a number of countries on 11 November, to recall the official end of World War I on that date in 1918, as the major hostilities of World War I were formally ended “at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month” of 1918 with the German signing of the Armistice. If anyone would like a more detailed explanation, you can find a wiki article covering it here.

November 11, 2010 - Posted by | Random Thoughts |

7 Comments

  1. The end of “The Family of Blood” has always brought me to tears…

    When I was in elementary school, from the fourth grade on, it was required that we memorize “In Flanders Field”. I’m ashamed to admit that I couldn’t get past the first verse from memory, but found the rest online:

    In Flanders fields the poppies blow
    Between the crosses, row on row,
    That mark our place; and in the sky
    The larks, still bravely singing, fly
    Scarce heard amid the guns below.

    We are the Dead. Short days ago
    We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
    Loved and were loved, and now we lie,
    In Flanders fields.

    Take up our quarrel with the foe:
    To you from failing hands we throw
    The torch; be yours to hold it high.
    If ye break faith with us who die
    We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
    In Flanders fields.

    Whether known as “Remembrance Day” (there) or “Veterans’ Day” (here), we should all remember those who have placed (and still place) themselves in harm’s way to protect us all…

    Comment by Jacy | November 12, 2010

    • Thanks for adding that Jacy, I did originally intend to quote it myself, but I’ve been too busy keeping warm for most of the day to be online.

      Comment by develish1 | November 12, 2010

  2. That’s beautiful, isn’t it?

    If you haven’t seen Blackadder Goes Forth I recommend it – yes, it’s comedy, but it’s mixed with poignancy (like all the best comedy is) and the end is truly devastating.

    Comment by whogal | November 13, 2010

    • I have, hubby has all the Blackadder stuff

      Comment by develish1 | November 13, 2010

  3. I’ve just watched that clip again, and again I’m in tears.

    All those lovely boys.

    I’ll be busy rehearsing tomorrow at 11.00 but I shall ask that we keep the 2 minutes’ silence – it’s the least we can do. I can’t believe that some people were moaning about standing in a bit of drizzle on 11/11 – imagine what it was like standing in a trench in a sea of mud, waiting to go over the top…

    Dev, if I may I’ll put this on my blog so people can see it.

    Comment by whogal | November 13, 2010

    • please do pass it on love, the more who see it the better

      Comment by develish1 | November 13, 2010

  4. Thanks hon. x

    Comment by whogal | November 13, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

