develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Randomness again…

Sorry folks, I’m late again, plus I’m not terribly focused either. It’s been a bit of a tough few days in the develish household unfortunately…

As you probably noticed my mood has been rather low for the last couple of weeks, although I’m not entirely sure what triggered it. To make matters worse, on Sunday night, just after hubby went to work I noticed a significant drop in temperature. A quick check showed the boiler was not working, meaning no heating. At a time when our current average temp is about 4 C this is not good as we have no other heating apart from a small gas fire in a room we rarely use. As you can imagine this resulted in a very miserable night for me, especially with hubby being at work all night.

 

Despite all hubby’s attempts at getting it sorted since then, we’re still without proper heating, although he did buy a small electric heater so at least we have something. Hopefully the boiler will be fixed tomorrow, but I’m not holding my breath on that score. So, I’m not sleeping well, I’m cold more often than not, and my mood has been utterly lousy as a result. This means today all you’re getting is a couple of random pics as I really can’t be arsed to do anything more extravagant.

 

I think that comes from Secret Smile, but since I can’t recall how I originally acquired it I can’t tell you anything else about it, sorry.

 

I think I’ve posted this screen grab from the Fires Of Pompeii Confidential before, probably even recently, but who cares, it’s a nice pic.

Now if you’ll excuse me ladies, I’m off to make a warm drink and huddle in my spare quilt for a while. Will pop back later to check out the comments.

November 10, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , ,

6 Comments

  1. Hi hon, so sorry to hear of your woes. I suffered several times a year with a recalcitrant boiler, but finally forced the housing association to see sense and fit a new one.

    SO I know exactly what you’re going through. Once, Mum had to boil umpteen kettles for me because I NEEDED a bath – both to keep warm and for the obvious reason.

    I’m pictureless right now but I’ll be back!

    Oh, before I forget, this’ll warm your cockles… According to David Tennant on Twitter:

    “For the week commencing Monday 22nd November (Monday to Friday) at 10.45pm on BBC Radio4 on the Book At Bedtime, David Tennant will be reading Antoine Calmet’s accounts of real Vampires.

    Book At Bedtime is a long running show on Radio 4 which is broadcast for 15 minutes from 10.45pm each weekday evening.”

    I thought B@B was supposed to RELAX you before you went to bed?!

    Comment by whogal | November 10, 2010

    • I’m just so glad I bought the spare quilt when they had a sale on at Ikea. I feel enough like hiding in bed as it is, without that being the only place to keep warm, and at least this way I can huddle on the sofa instead.

      As for vampires before bed, not sure that would be very relaxing, but then I can just close my eyes and let his voice wash over me, that would work I’m sure 😉

      Comment by develish1 | November 10, 2010

  2. It wasn’t the vampires who would raise my bloodpressure! 🙂

    Comment by whogal | November 10, 2010

    • mmmm, yes, good point 😉

      Comment by develish1 | November 10, 2010

  3. *dreamily gazes at first picture* I don’t have the words…

    It was a stressful day at work today, until I remembered that I had “The Feast of the Drowned” on the iPod. It got much better after that… 🙂 Didn’t matter that it was a scary-ish fishy zombie story. It was that voice. He could’ve been reading the bloody phonebook and I would have been just fine!

    4C… Yikes, that’s, like, forty-ish for us Fahrenheit folk, isn’t it? Way too cold to not have reliable heat! I hope they get to your boiler tomorrow!!

    Comment by Jacy | November 11, 2010

    • I really should listen to that again, I’m not sure I was really paying attention to the story the first time. Not that I expect the second to be much different, but…

      And yes, 4C is about 39F apparently, so no, not good, although the quilt and the wine are helping, oh and there’s already a hot water bottle tucked in my bed, and a man due home in about an hour, so…

      Comment by develish1 | November 11, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

