develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

ok, I admit, I’m confused…

Yes, I know me and confused are already close friends, I’ve never claimed otherwise, but this has totally thrown me. What? Oh, it’s a review, if you can call it that, of Single Father…

In all honestly though, it comes across in the main as one man’s excuse to slag off the BBC and the British TV industry as a whole. The reviewer in question does admit that they don’t really like TV, and that they had to step in to go to the press preview at the last minute and much prefer live theatre etc, which makes me wonder what on earth their bosses were thinking asking them to do the review in the first place. It seems though, that they did deem this person capable.

However, said reviewer spends far too much of their article by explaining how they think TV today is generally shit, below their intellect (and ours too apparently), and although they do then say they were impressed with the cast etc and expect Single Father to be a success, they still seem to think it’s beneath them, and go on at length about everything they think is wrong with TV today.

Now I know I’m biased when it comes to DT, but what the hell is a Scottish newspaper thinking, letting someone who clearly dislikes TV in general, loose on this? When I stop seething from the sheer stupidity of sending this person to do the review in the first place I might actually have something useful to say. For now though, if you want to read it you’ll find it here.

Instead of doing that though, why not just stay here and watch this….Not safe for work by the way

Yeah, I know I’ve posted that before, but Bex did  make it specially for me, and I love it, oh and I rather like this too…

original image courtesy of The Medusa Cascade
September 29, 2010 - Posted by | A Bit Of A Rant, Picture Of The Day | , , ,

9 Comments

  1. I’ll have to watch the video later.

    But yes, I agree wholeheartedly with you – what an eejit, as David probably wouldn’t say (apart from about himself!)

    The guy doesn’t know what he’s on about.

    Yes, sometimes, these caption thingies get in the way, but I found it helpful for watching “Secret Smile” as the time line seems to bounce around all over the place. So there, Mr Reviewer.

    And as for insulting David’s gorgeous, expressive eyes – get a life! Obviously Mr Reviewer is jealous.

    All I can say is, roll on 10.10.10 (at 10?!)

    Comment by whogal | September 29, 2010

    • bit of a rant on my part really I guess, but I’m hormonal and hungover, which is a very bad combo.

      and no I think it’s on at 9, lol

      Comment by develish1 | September 29, 2010

    • Okay… I’m curious… what’s going to happen on October 10, 2010 at 10pm? I’m guessing something Tenth Doctor related… *lol*

      Comment by Jacy | September 30, 2010

      • that would be 9pm actually, and it’s……nah, wait till you read the beautifully crafted post I’ve just finished typing up for Thursday 😛

        Comment by develish1 | September 30, 2010

  2. Nah, deserved IMHO! I’m hormonal, too.

    Oh, dammit, would’ve been good to have all the tens… 🙂

    Comment by whogal | September 29, 2010

  3. I agree. To think that this person is allowed the space in a newspaper is beyond me. You go girl Give them Hell.

    Comment by mardy | September 29, 2010

  4. glad to hear it’s not just me and my over-active hormones that think he’s an ass 🙂

    Comment by develish1 | September 29, 2010

  5. I’m going to comment on the lovely things first. The video – which, thanks to you, has long been one of my faves on YouTube – and the picture of the Tenth Doctor in the Ninth Doctor’s jumper and leather jacket, and thereby representing the perfect juxtaposition of my two favorite Doctors.

    And, of course, there’s that lower lip again. Honest to Pete, I have dreamed about the damn thing…

    Read the review. Here’s the thing… okay, maybe he’s giving himself points for “journalistic integrity” by being so upfront about his (obvious) contempt for the medium. But, as a reader and (hopeful) viewer, I would dismiss out of hand a) his review, and b) his credibility for tackling a review with obvious, best case scenario, ignorance and, worse case, inappropriate prejudice. And I would feel this way regardless of what he is reviewing.

    Just plain irresponsible – him and his editor(s).

    Comment by Jacy | September 30, 2010

    • yes, that vid is totally my fault, I accept responsibility happily 🙂 and that pic rather yummy isn’t it?

      As for that review, well I’m still rather speechless that a Scottish news agency would even published it, given the negative backlash it’s likely to cause.

      Comment by develish1 | September 30, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

