develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

So what do people think?

I’ve been reading various reviews and comments about the version of Hamlet with John Simm, and thought I’d share some with you…

This first one, is by someone who was at a performance on 22 September 2010. Just your average theatre goer, not a critic by profession etc. Here’s a snippet of her thoughts…

John Simm gave a good performance of Hamlet but he failed, for me, to capture the deep emotion and the madness – feigned or otherwise – of the young prince, and some of his soliloquies seemed recited rather than delivered with deep feeling.

John Nettles, playing the dual role of Claudius and the dead King, was a disappointment: he was almost acting too much, and I didn’t care for his voice delivery when playing the dead king. He had none of the menace that Patrick Stewart brought to the role, and seemed for of a greedy opportunist than a cleverly cunning usurper.

She also saw David as Hamlet two years ago, and goes on to talk about her thoughts as regards the differences in the two performances. You can read the rest of helygen’s thoughts on the show here and you’ll also find a link there back to her comments from two years ago about DT’s Hemlet.

I found some more pictures of JS as Hamlet too, and well, you know me, I do so love to share so here’s a new one…

original image courtesy of John Simm.org

I also have a second review for you to take a read of, by another Livejournal user, foxyhlc. I know this is slightly cheating, since the two people I’m quoting went to the performance together, but more info is better, yes? Anyway, another quote

John Nettles is the least statesmen like Claudius I have ever seen and comes across as opportunistic rather than clever and conniving. His motivation seemed to be entirely about grabbing the land, power and Gertrude but in the way a toddler demands sweets rather than ambitious and intelligent nobility. Of course, this may have been intentional.

Another person who’s not very impressed with Nettles’ performance it seems. Her full review is here and again it’s certainly worth a read.

original image courtesy of John Simm.org

Oh, before I forget, the National Televisions Awards nominees are now set and awaiting your votes too. As you’d expect there’s quite a variety of stuff to vote for, so why not pop over there and have your say. To vote, click here.

OK, I think that will do for today won’t it? What? Oh! You want a DT picture don’t you? Will this one do?

original image courtesy of David Tennant.org

See, I can stay on topic when I want to. It’s just that I don’t often want to, because, well there are so many other….oooh…..shiney….

September 24, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , ,

3 Comments

  1. I could make a really bad joke about being hoisted on someone’s petard… but I won’t. I’ll just let it pass.

    En garde! 😀

    Comment by Jacy | September 24, 2010

    • lol, I knew someone would say something like that, also suspected it would be you

      Comment by develish1 | September 25, 2010

      • I am nothing if not consistent… *lol*

        Comment by Jacy | September 25, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

