develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

How about a bit of JS?

I though we might have a slightly Simm filled day here today, since there’s really not much in the news on DT, and we have been rather ignoring John lately…

So, after a very short hunt around, I’ve come up with two articles you might want to read, and a picture that sent my mind to a rather bad place, or should that be good place?. Anyway, both articles are interviews with JS regarding his upcoming portrayal of Hamlet. First there’s one from the Yorkshire Post (quote below) and you can find the whole thing here.

“It’s the most challenging part that is available to an actor and therein lies the attraction. It’s the greatest part ever written for a young, well young-ish, actor. It’s a pinnacle and to be asked to play Hamlet is wonderful because there aren’t that many people who do.”

Then there’s the second article, over at the Telegraph, which I found more entertaining, but again I’ve only brought you a quote, the full article is here.

“Do I think, ‘Why am I doing this?’ Oh God, yes!” he says, gulping at his pint of Guinness. “It’s a hell of a lot of pressure. I may get absolutely slaughtered.”

And the only way I can really think of to close up today’s post, is of course to post a picture of DT in Hamlet, because I don’t just throw this thing together you know, really I don’t…

screen grab from “The Making Of..” courtesy of David Tennant.org
September 16, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , ,

9 Comments

  1. “That’s enigmatic. That, that’s TEXTBOOK enigmatic!”

    I just can’t tell what JS is saying or thinking, here…

    Got a good idea what naughty Hamlet/DT is thinking, though! 🙂

    Comment by whogal | September 22, 2010

    • I dunno what’s on JS’s mind there, and maybe it’s just my mind that makes it that way, but it looks filthy to me, lol

      Comment by develish1 | September 22, 2010

  2. I’m putting this on here because it’s JS AND DT related; it’s a fascinating dissection of the “To be or not to be” soliloquy – I really hadn’t thought about it that much before.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-11380973

    It’s worth a read. I’ve not seen the video yet, so I don’t know if DT appears or not.

    Comment by whogal | September 23, 2010

  3. Sorry, I seem to have put the wrong link on…

    DT DOESN’T, sadly, appear in the video.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-11370834

    There, that’s more like it! 🙂 (He still doesn’t appear in the video but the story’s really interesting).

    Comment by whogal | September 23, 2010

    • thanks love, that article is much netter 🙂

      Comment by develish1 | September 23, 2010

      • Yeah, I thought it was excellent, and the comments below are very thought-provoking, I thought. I’d never have imagined that so much was meant by that short speech…

        Comment by whogal | September 23, 2010

  4. another article on JS’s performance, they seem to like him

    http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/29681/hamlet

    Comment by develish1 | September 23, 2010

    • I’m relieved by that; I hoped he would do well. He seems like a real sweetie (even though he DOES play lots of ‘nutters’)!

      Comment by whogal | September 29, 2010

      • but he does it so very well..

        Comment by develish1 | September 29, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

