develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

More rumours?

Yes ladies and gents (although there are very few gents who read my stuff it seems) the rumour mill is running rampant yet again with regards to Doctor Who…

According to the Mirror’s website, the reason for the DW season break is actually nothing to do with DW itself, it’s all about boosting ratings for something else…

“BBC bosses want to stall Simon Cowell’s juggernaut after Strictly was soundly beaten by the ITV1 talent show last year.

They hope that delaying the second half of the next Doctor Who series until Autumn and bringing back Strictly’s Sunday results show will give them the boost they need.”

So they plan to boost ratings for one show, by using the viewers another show accumulates as they think it will keep people watching at that time of day? I don’t know about you, but that makes no sense to me at all. The two shows have totally different audiences. I for one will simply stop watching that time slot once DW pauses for it’s break.

But then, there’s this article here, that also features a video clip of Moffat stating quite clearly that the season break was his idea all along, and claims that it’s not really a split season, it’s actually two shorter seasons…

“I kept referring to a mid-season finale. So we are going to make it two series – seven episodes at Easter building to an earth-shattering climax, a cliffhanger we could never normally do because it would be too long before it came back. An enormous game-changing cliffhanger that will change everything.

“The wrong expression would be to say we are splitting it in two. We are making it two separate series.”

Yeah, right. Oh and then there’s the theory Yahoo News is promoting, regarding the “cliff hanger” we’ll see mid season. It seems they think Amy is being killed off. Quite what’s led them to this apparently blind leap of logic is beyond me though, since they offer nothing in their article to support the theory. Click the link to read it for yourself and tell me what you think. i think, I need a Doctor….

original image courtesy of Tennant Photos
September 1, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , ,

7 Comments

  1. I’m sorry. I read all of that, then looked at the picture and, wow, everything you said just sort of went away…

    No reflection on you – I think you know that. And I think you understand perfectly that sudden short term memory loss… *lol*

    *goes back to re-read*

    Comment by Jacy | September 1, 2010

    • oh I understand perfectly, I assure you.

      In fact when I’d finished typing this up I had to go back and re-read it twice before posting it, because I kept getting distracted, lol

      Comment by develish1 | September 1, 2010

  2. Ooh, ma poor achin’ heid!

    What to believe… I quite like the epic cliff-hanger idea – remember when Ten ‘regenerated’ after being ‘shot’ by a Dalek? Longest. Week. EVAH!

    I don’t watch Strictly now, I didn’t like the way Arlene Phillips was treated.

    Ooh, give me a handsome man again… The Doctors are propped up against my shoulder as I write… I needed a hug.

    Comment by whogal | September 2, 2010

    • my thoughts exactly, but I decided I didn’t want to suffer the headache alone, lol

      Oh and Tara says DT will be back in New Mexico tonight.

      Comment by develish1 | September 2, 2010

  3. WAH! I wish he were here! I need him!

    Comment by whogal | September 2, 2010

    • There, there….here this should help

      Comment by develish1 | September 2, 2010

  4. Oh, thank you, I need a doctor! 🙂

    I bet he has a lovely bedside manner…

    Comment by whogal | September 2, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

