develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Another award…

Remember the Airlock Alpha awards that I’ve been bugging you all to go vote on for the last month? Well the results are finally in. I think you’ll all be pleased…

Screen grab, by me.

Yes, the results are in, and to quote Airlock Alpha themselves “‘Doctor Who’ Dominates 2010 Portal Awards”. Torchwood didn’t do too badly either.

DT won the Best Actor/Television Award (by getting an impressive 68% of the votes) and Russell T. Davies picked up the Gene Roddenberry Award for lifetime achievement.

Doctor Who itself achived 65% of the votes, winning it the Best Series Award, and The End of Time won the Best Episode/Television Award.

In addition, Bernard Cribbins got the Best Supporting Actor/Television Award (with 59% of the votes) for his role as Wilf, and Alex Kingston also won the Best Guest/Television Award for her role as River Song in the episode Time of Angels.

original image courtesy of the BBC’s Torchwood site

And staying in the Whoniverse (never thought I’d actually use that word) Torchwood put in a good showing too. Eve Myles, who plays Gwen Cooper in Torchwood, won Best Actress/Television with 38% of the votes, beating runner-up, Karen Gillan, who got 26%.

While John Barrowman came runner up to Dt for the Best Actor/Television Award, and the Torchwood episode Children of Earth came runner up in the Best Episode/Television category. Torchwood also came runner up in the Best Series category.

So all in all, I’d say they all did damn well, would you? You can read a more in depth article here, and there’s a full list of nominees and winners etc. here.

Right, lets find a nice picture to end with, something from an awards ceremony I think would be fitting, so how about this one of DT larking about with Cribbins at the NTV Awards 2010…

original image courtesy of David Tennant.org
August 2, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , , , , ,

9 Comments

  1. YAY for DT! And Eve! And John! And Bernard! 🙂

    Well-deserved by all.

    Aww, I do love to see a DT larking about pic!

    I was listening to a CD I have about Doctor Who (Who else?!) and there was a great bit when he prankd-called a radio show on which Julie Gardner was being interviewed – naughty boy.

    Comment by whogal | August 2, 2010

  2. It is great isn’t it? Considering they were up against the likes of Lost, which has a massive following, it’s pretty impressive.

    and I do love that pic, the look on his face, lol

    Comment by develish1 | August 2, 2010

  3. I am so proud of our lad and of the show. I’m ecstatic right now, I didn’t know they were gonna get that many votes! One goes to show how GREAT the show is.

    Comment by Fran | August 2, 2010

  4. It is pretty amazing isn’t it? 68% of the vote, when the runner up, Barrowman, got just 10%. Now that’s what I call a landslide win.

    Comment by develish1 | August 2, 2010

  5. Haha,that made my day! And I feel so glad I did all that voting the last couple of days. I can’t believe it – they really won in all the categories they were nominated for (DW and TW) – that’s just… well, it’s brilliant 🙂
    Thanks, Dev, for sharing the good news 🙂

    Comment by Belle | August 2, 2010

  6. I voted almost every day too, depending if my PC was behaving or not. I was so pleased to finally see, and share the results.

    I’m also feeling just a little smug that I posted them before david-tennant.com did, lol.

    Comment by develish1 | August 2, 2010

  7. ‘s making me very happy! I’d type more but I’m too busy grinning foolishly at the pictures! *grins foolishly*

    Comment by Jacy | August 3, 2010

  8. Hi Jacy, nice of you to visit.

    and we definitely encourage the foolish grinning in here, along with swooning, drooling, or indeed just hitting the floor at speed, lol.

    Hey everyone, this is my BETA, say hello and make her blush, lol.

    Comment by develish1 | August 3, 2010

  9. *grins and blushes*

    Comment by Jacy | August 3, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

