develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

You really can buy anything…

Seriously, these days it seems you truly can buy pretty much anything you want. whatever your little hearts desires there’s bound ot be someone out there willing to make it for you.

Whether it’s actually any good or not though, now there’s the problem…

For example, there some stuff out there that’s simply awesome! No really. Things like this that just scream at me in a totally nerdy way…

This being a bracelet of course, but with a twist, the placement of the beads actually means something, if you understand the code…

Binary Base-2 Computer Code

In the binary number system there are two digits (base 2)- 0 and 1. A byte is a collection of 8 bits. Here the 0’s are round silver beads and the 1’s are square glass beads. Quality beads on 1mm sterling silver wire. Slightly nerdy but a cool way to wear our favourite time machine

Put simply, the apparently random assortment of beads, is not random at all, it’s the actual binary code for the letters: TARDIS. How nerdy is that? In fact, the lady who makes these makes quite an assortment of DW themed jewellery items, check out her site for more info.

And then of course there’s things which are more in the realm of prop replicas, such as copies like this of the Doctor’s fob watch…

These are, as you’d expect, rather expensive, but appear to be very well made and come in a beautiful gift box with the Seal Of Rassilon on the top. To see this, and other replica items such as the Master’s ring, and assorted screwdrivers etc. check out this site.

And then there’s the things that make we want to yell at my monitor, in a thoroughly nerdy way, and tell them they’re just wrong! Things like this for instance…

These suits are made by one of those paragons of excellence over at Etsy (scuse me while I choke) and while I applaud their efforts, I truly do, they are just wrong! Why? Well despite the fact that this seller also makes what appears to be a very good replica of Ten’s coat, the suits are not so good. You can pop over there and see her work for yourself if you like, but be warned you’ll possiblly want to yell too if you’re as much of a nerd as me, because the fabric is totally inaccurate.

Now, when I say inaccurate, I mean that it’s simply the wrong damn colour! How much worse can you get for heavens sake? Anyone nerdy enough to want to cosplay as Ten would know that the brown suit has blue pinstripes, and the blue suit had a red ones, wouldn’t they? So why would anyone want to wear a suit that’s brown with a sort of beige stripe, or a blue one with a paler blue stripe? Or is it just me being too picky? I think I need a Doctor…

Oh yes, that’s much better. I feel so much calmer, actually I feel so much better in fact that I….*THUD*

July 21, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , ,

6 Comments

  1. Watch that blood pressure, Dev – too low and you’re liable to *thud* (although I can’t blame you – freckles! Eek!)
    Too high and you might go off bang! And no Doctor could put you together again…

    😉

    Comment by whogal | July 21, 2010

  2. lol. You never did say what you thought about those suits though…

    Comment by develish1 | July 21, 2010

  3. I have the TARDIS bracelet charm… I love it, it is my fav charm of the bunch!

    Comment by Fran | July 21, 2010

  4. that’s on my “want” list too, mind you I have a rather long list, lol

    Comment by develish1 | July 21, 2010

  5. You’re right, it’s not quite right, is it? Close, but no cigar.

    Comment by whogal | July 21, 2010

  6. I know, and I was very hormonal + out of chocolate, when I typed this up, lol

    Comment by develish1 | July 21, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

