develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Well I said I would…

I mentioned tattoos the other day, my own specifically.  I also said I’d give more info when I had time. although I’m off shortly, I do actually have a little time, so here goes….

Firstly, I’d like to apologise for the less than brilliant quality of the pictures. I couldn’t find hubby’s new, all singing all dancing camera so had to use my older one, which isn’t nearly as good. Mainly because the lower resolution means the colour quality isn’t that great. Plus it’s damn tricky to take pictures of parts of your own body, some of which you can’t even see yourself clearly, lol.

Anyway, my first tattoo, which is the one I mentioned to whogal, is a spider on a web, which sits on the back of my right shoulder. The design though is a one-off.I’d found a red spider I liked(although you can hardly tell it’s red from this pic), but couldn’t find a web shape that looked right to me, so I went along and had a chat with the tattoo artist that a number of friends had recommended to me. He listened to what I wanted, then calmly sat down and drew one for me freehand, as soon as I saw it, it just seemed perfect to me, and this was the end result….

My second one is what’s often referred to as a Celtic Band, although I’m not sure that truly fits,although it is in the traditional spot for one as it runs around the upper part of my left arm. Yet again though, it’s part hand drawn and is therefore another one-off. I found a piece of Celtic work I liked, but it wasn’t wide enough to go around my arm. so I sat down myself with a pencil and paper and drew a basic chain design, which the Tattoo artist then attached to either side, to form the “band”.

My third one is what I’ve heard referred to as a “tramp stamp”, although since only hubby sees it, unless I choose to deliberately show it to someone, I don’t see how that term fits in my case, lol. This was a standard design, although yet again me being me I had to do something different with it. Where the original has a red heart in the centre, mine is actually a purple colour (although this doesn’t show up well on the picture)

And finally, my fourth, and by far the most painful, is the one I have on left side of my left foot.This was taken from a design I found online, but modified by hand by the artist as it didn’t quite look right, then of course I also had them change the colour so the rose is actually purple (are you seeing a theme developing). And then just to be extra awkward it’s got Chinese symbols underneath it. Hopefully they say what they’re supposed to. The literal translation, as close as can be translated of course, I’m told reads Co ra which put together was my grandmothers name. The more accurate meaning though I’m told is something like “happy smile” and equally fitting term for the person it’s meant to commemorate.

So, there you have it, those are my tattoos to date. There may be more in the future as I’m still looking for a nice dragon, so if/when I get more I’ll bring pics. And by the way, yes they DO hurt, although depending on where they are affects how much.

My spider hurt the least, with the heart coming in second. The band wasn’t too bad either, until he started working around to the inside of my arm. Try pinching yourself there and you’ll have a hint of an idea. The rose on my foot however, was stupidly painful. So much so, that the beer hubby had planned to take me for straight after didn’t quite go according to plan, since I almost passed out when I stood up to leave. I composed myself, then went for the beer, but to this day I’ve never in my life taken that long to drink half a lager, lol.

Anyway, to round things off, as always, we have the usual type of picture. There’s even a vague link, but it’s so vague you wont believe it. Ok, lets try and explain it. Tattoo – Edinburgh Tattoo – DT’s Scottish – DT in a kilt. See, it works, sort of……..

original image (Academy Awards 2005) courtesy of Tennant Photos
June 28, 2010 - Posted by | Random Thoughts | ,

8 Comments

  1. *DEEP CONTENTED SIGH* It’s always lovely to see David in his kilt!

    If I were ever lucky enough to meet him (and he were wearing it) I’d have to “treat” him to a rendition of “(Mc)Donald Where’s Yer Troosers”!

    I think you’re very brave being inked in all those places – I’m not sure I would.

    I can’t feel my feet but I wouldn’t have one there, I’d have to think of somewhere else, I think, were I to have one done.

    I’m not even gonna ask about the “tramp stamp”! 🙂

    Comment by whogal | June 28, 2010

  2. I just want to know one thing, is he wearing it in the “traditional” way? I know you know what I mean 😉

    Oh, from what I can gather, the whole “tramp stamp” thing is a derogatory term that came about due to that type of tattoo being very popular with a certain type of person.

    namely, young, single mothers with multiple children by various fathers, who live on benefits and have poor dress sense.

    I certainly don’t fit the young single mother part since I’m not so young and have no children, and hopefully the poor dress sense doesn’t apply either, lol

    Comment by develish1 | June 28, 2010

  3. I do like tattoos, but I’m too much of a wimp to get one done 😛 Yours are all really awesome, but I personally hate spiders!

    Nice DT pic, too. No wonder that woman in the background is staring…

    Comment by Becky | June 28, 2010

  4. Hi Becky,

    don’t worry, if we ever meet I’ll just make sure I’m not wearing a strappy top, lol.

    that’s the thing about mine though, they’re all in easily covered places. a simple t-shirt, and full shoes or boots, covers them all up, which is good for “formal” occasions etc

    Comment by develish1 | June 28, 2010

  5. ‘Is anything worn under the kilt?’
    ‘Nope, it’s all in perfect working order!’

    Ahh, the old ones are the best! 🙂

    Comment by whogal | June 28, 2010

    • I knew someone would say it, lol

      Comment by develish1 | June 28, 2010

  6. Oh, David in a kilt! That has made my day!

    Your tattoos are really cool, Dev. I bet it is quite painful, and because I am a sissy when it comes to needles I doubt it that I ever get one. I think of tattoos as a form of expressing who you are, and for me they’re just another form of art and deserve the credit as, say, painting or sculpting. It must be really hard to balance the colour and the shading, not to mention the fact that different skin tones affect the vibrancy of the colour.

    Comment by Fran | June 28, 2010

    • well there’s certainly been a lot of time and effort put into the designs I used, since they all needed adjusting in some way.

      The people who’ve done mine are certainly artists in my view.

      Comment by develish1 | June 28, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

