develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

I’m not good with stress…

As you all know, I’m not the most emotionally stable of people to start with, but today I’m really not in a very nice mood. This always results in bad languages. You have been warned……

So what is it that’s pissed me off today? Well to start with, it seems my credit card company has decided to increase my interest rate. This is annoying in itself, but then it happens from time to time right? Thing is though, it’s even more annoying when I discover that due to the last few increases, plus this new one, I’m now going to be expected to pay double the minimum interest rate they offer for my particular card.

So I call them. I’m told “it’s reviewed every six months” so me being me asks why it’s now being increased then, since my circumstances haven’t change in any way in the last 24 months, and in fact I now actually have far more savings than I did when I first took out the card around 5 years ago, so surely I’m an even better credit risk? The response “I can’t tell you why, I don’t have that information”.  I’m not happy with this as you can understand, so I ask how can I get this reviewed again, or appeal etc. The response “sorry, you can’t. The only options is to close the account before the increase date, then you can keep your current rate till it’s cleared”

So basically I’m stuck, with an increase I don’t want, can’t appeal against, and bank employees who can’t, or wont, even tell me why it’s being increased. Dev is not a happy bunny, and thinks everyone at my bank should be shot.

Then, just to make me smile even further, my internet connection dropped out, again. Now, we have cabled broadband, which they claim is faster, and more reliable, than most other providers. Don’t make me laugh!

In the last two weeks our connection has dropped out at least once virtually every single day, and on one particular day it dropped out FIVE times. Today it’s already done it 3 times. Ok, so it’s only off for a few minutes each time, but when it does come back it doesn’t simply reconnect, no that would be far too simple. Most time the modem has to be rebooted to get the connection back properly, which of course also means our router then needs rebooting too.

When you call them of course, or check the webite once you finally get back online, they claim there’s “no issues at this time”. Well of course there aren’t, it’s bloody well working again now or else how could I check online? So again, not a happy bunny, and seriously considering the option of meeting a friend and getting very, very drunk, oh and that everyone at my cable company should also be shot.

For now though, I’m going to do something I know will make me a little more smiley. Gaze at this for a while and let my imagination run wild…….

June 22, 2010 - Posted by | A Bit Of A Rant, Picture Of The Day | ,

7 Comments

  1. Damn, he’s so beautiful! 😀
    *sigh*

    Please don’t shoot anyone, the consequences are too horrible to contemplate!
    xx

    Comment by whogal | June 22, 2010

  2. Oh, I’m sorry. I hate it when people have no apparent explanations for their (!!) actions. They should be able to tell you what happened. You have every right to be annoyed. If you need to vent, you know where to find me. x *hugs*

    Comment by Fran | June 22, 2010

  3. Thanks, both of you.

    I’m much calmer now, although still annoyed, and planning on some very very strongly worded letters.

    Not that I’m expected it will lead to any changes, but it’ll certainly make me feel better telling them what I think of them, lol

    Comment by develish1 | June 22, 2010

    • Credit card companies are infamous for doing that here- we’ve got one card with a small credit line on it and thats it. I just don’t want to deal with that mess

      Now, I’m going to sip some wine and look at the art- my eyes thank you Dev.

      Comment by Anita Marie | June 23, 2010

      • I know what you mean, and you’re right, it’s the general attitude of “lenders” these days. and it would probably be less annoying it if were just a random credit card company, but this is a bank that I’ve been with for over 30 years.

        I’ve been banking with them consistently, had almost any type of account you can mention etc. since my grandfather opened my original account for me when I was 8 years old.

        Is it really that much to ask to expect a little respect, and at least a straight answer, after being a customer for that long?

        Maybe it’s time to switch banks? They clearly don’t want by business that badly any more do they?

        The funny thing is, what they haven’t taken into account, but will when when they they get “the letter from hell” that I’m halfway through writing, is the fact that they’re actually costing themselves money pissing me off like this.

        Hubby can easily afford to clear what I owe them overnight (thank god) which means they’ll get zero interest in future, but in the past I’d have had paid off a bit each month, and they’d have got some interest each month because I had an ongoing balance. Usually around around £2,000.00 ($3,400.00 US)

        I will of course point this out to them in the shitty letter they’ll be getting from me very soon.

        Comment by develish1 | June 23, 2010

        • If they can’t provide good customer service them ” F ” them.

          Comment by Anita Marie | June 24, 2010

  4. god I ramble when I’ve been drinking, lol

    Comment by develish1 | June 23, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

