develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

The beginning of the end?

Ok, so it’s a pretty lame title, but in my defence I’m low on caffeine, and besides it is the beginning of the end of this season of Doctor Who. As always, spoilers ahead, quite large ones really………

Before I begin, I did enjoy this weeks episode to a degree, my inner eight year old had a ball, and I am looking forward to next weeks finale, but a lot of what follows will sound negative to some. I am, as you all know, a fan of Doctor Who as a whole, but I’m not one of those rabid fans who follow it blindly no matter where it tries to lead me (even DT in a tux couldn’t quite convince me about The Lazarus Experiment), so I’m not afraid to be critical if I feel it’s deserved. Besides, I think I’d be doing both myself, and the show, a disservice if I weren’t honest in my opinions.

Ok then, my thoughts……My first thought is that maybe I’ve just watched too many of these types of shows over the years, but I found this weeks show incredibly predictable and clichéd at times.

The opening scenes, very reminiscent of The Stolen Earth, see a bunch of the Doctor’s acquaintances contact each other in an attempt to contact him, in order to pass on a message that’s been found in a Van Gogh painting (yes him again). Message received and assorted breadcrumbs followed, the Doctor and his current companions go in search of the mysterious Pandorica.

When they find it, the Doctor starts on a monologue relaying the “fairytale” behind it. Before he’s gotten even a quarter of the way through his speech on the “being” it’s supposed to contain, I’d already figured out exactly what it was going to contain.

screen grab by me

Then just to ram home the point, in case anyone hadn’t already grasped it, we’re told there’s at least 10,000 starships around the planet, maybe more, there are so many readings they can’t actually count them all. First we hear there are Dalek ships, then Cyber ships, then Sontaron, Slitheen, Silurians, Sycorax, Judoon, etc. etc. You get the idea right?

So even if you didn’t get all the heavy hints in the Doctors monologue, you now get a second chance to think for a moment, and ask yourself this question; Who is the one being in the whole of time and space that all these races (most of whom would normally attack each other on site) would combine their efforts in order to defeat?

Of course they think they have a reason, they’re trying to stop the Tardis from exploding in flight and causing the universe to collapse. The flaw in their plan though, is that they believe only one person can fly it, which we already know of course is not the case as we know at some point he’s shown River Song exactly how to fly it. Something he strangely doesn’t bother to point out while pleading for freedom, despite the fact it would have shown them their plan was totally flawed. So, now can you guess who’s going to be in The Pandorica?

screen grab by me

Oh and just to add an extra twist (which seemed to me to be just an excuse for Amy to be out of the picture in order to stop her pointing out that someone else was already flying the Tardis at that exact moment) Rory comes back, only it’s not really Rory, and he then turns on Amy just as she’s starting to remember, and with the Doctor indisposed, and the Tardis already in flight………….

We cut to the closing scenes, with explosions across the sky as stars across the universe start going super-nova and the universe begins to collapse, then the screen goes black.

So yes, one hell of a cliff hanger, and the fangirl in me would have given up my right arm (possibly the left too) to be on set when they filmed the scene with all the alien races all lined up together to confront the Doctor.

Sadly though, my lasting impression was of sloppy writing (Moffat wrote this one) with too many predictable plot devices, lame twists to make things seem exciting, etc. I’m sorry if this offends other fans out there, but I’ve come to expect far better from someone who has in the past written the likes of The Empty Child, Silence In The Library and Blink. Sorry Steven, this was not your finest hour, and for a two-part season finale, that could be a very bad sign for next season. I just hope this isn’t really the beginning of the end of DW……..

Ok, I’ve rattled on about this for far longer than I intended, I guess it really did bug me more than I realised, so I”ll leave it there, and await next weeks show with interest.

For now though, I’m about to head off and watch something with DT in it. I haven’t decided what yet, since I have a selection to choose from, but maybe I’ll finally watch the one this screen grab comes from……

original image courtesy of Tennant Photos
June 20, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , , , ,

19 Comments

  1. These Mega plots might work good on a movie screen but small screen for TV show? I don’t know, at times it feels like a cheat- just like when a band puts out a ‘greatest hits’ album to fufill a contract w/ their record company.

    I guess I’m dense because even with the spoilers I’ve seen I don’t get where this episode is going.

    Guess I’ll have to wait, we are a few episodes behind you guys

    Comment by Anita Marie | June 20, 2010

  2. What I don’t get is how the hell they’re get back from that cliff-hanger ending, although I guess they’ll use that timey-wimey stuff to fix it, lol.

    They’ll have to do something sneaky, because we already know River Song survives. We saw a future version of her in Time Of Angels where she mentioned having already seen the Doctor “when the Pandorica opens”

    Sometimes though, the two of them meeting out of sequence makes my head hurt trying to work it out, lol

    Comment by develish1 | June 20, 2010

    • What I’m curious about is the book and why it looks like the TARDIS and if RS is part of the story why does she need to read it at all?

      Comment by Anita Marie | June 21, 2010

    • ah well, that’s the “timey wimey” thing again you see.

      when she told him she’d see him again at this point in time, it was already in her past, right now while living through it, it’s her present so she doesn’t know the outcome yet.

      Bet your head really hurts now huh? lol

      Comment by develish1 | June 21, 2010

      • Wow, the writers have really given themselves some options there. safesafesafe.

        Comment by Anita Marie | June 21, 2010

  3. I have to say I had no idea where it was leading. But then again, I was a mess watching the episode. Too tired and even got teary over the cliffhanger. I realised, though, that all those fleets were coming for the Doctor: I mean, it was obvious.
    River Song still manages to annoy me, God knows know. I can’t stand her in ‘Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead’; I have no idea why, but there you go. The ‘Hello sweetie’ thing upsets me greatly.
    It’s not as upsetting as it could have been, once we know River and Amy survive, so… yeah.

    Comment by Fran | June 20, 2010

  4. edit: ‘God knows *how*’

    Comment by Fran | June 20, 2010

    • it’s not just you, I don’t like her much either. There’s just something about her that grates on my nerves, especially when she opens her mouth.

      Comment by develish1 | June 20, 2010

  5. Oh dear, I like River! If I were going to be a mum I might consider ‘River Song’ as a name.
    Ahem.

    I,too am thick as a thicko in a room of thick things when it comes to plots.
    I dunno what’s going on, and I dunno how it’ll resolve, I just know it will.
    Perhaps that’s why I didn’t get anywhere near crying.
    But I just enjoyed the ride (I’m pretty undemanding!)
    But DT looks WAY better on a horse than Matt Smith (esp as M wasn’t actually ON a horse, not sure about DT but it looked great.
    Someone else (but I agree) pointed out that DT would have made so much more of the pleading scenes.
    But overall I did enjoy it, and look forward to next week.

    Oh MAN! I’d love to be on the other side of that table gazing at DI Carlisle! : D
    Dimple alert! : D

    Hey before I go, I know we have busy lives but I think my friend on Twitter is looking for some help with their DT page – it’s a good’un.
    I did cut and paste the link (I thought) but now it’s gone. : (
    I’ll come back and let you know.

    Comment by whogal | June 21, 2010

  6. http://community.livejournal.com/dt_sexy_off/22278.html

    Here it is. Dev, mattresses, please – stat! 😉

    Comment by whogal | June 21, 2010

  7. you know me whogal,

    always got a good supply of soft surfaces available, lol

    Comment by develish1 | June 21, 2010

  8. oh, what kind of help?

    Comment by develish1 | June 21, 2010

  9. We’ll need it!

    I think they may be having trouble trying to find the time to run it – that’s what seemed to be being said on Twitter.

    But probably best to talk to helygen, first. She’s lovely, a good Twittermate! 🙂

    Comment by whogal | June 21, 2010

    • you’re welcome to tell her to look me up over at LJ if she wants, I’ve finally set up a username over there, but haven’t had much time to figure out how it works yet. I’m develish1 there, same as here.

      Comment by develish1 | June 21, 2010

  10. Ok bit late but only just got to watch the ep. Can anyone explain the cyberman? And the fact it contained skull? And works on its own? And why it needs ‘fresh meat’ as matts doctor put it? Back in DTs run the cybermen where created to live forever free from disease and it waa done by removing the brain and placing it into a metal body and thus a cyberman is born so to speak. So when did this all change? Have i missed something here? I had high hopes for steven when hearing he was to take over with his past works on DW but this series has not been brilliant. Not bad but not brilliant 😦 i miss russel. What does anyone else think? Have i missed something? Or am i onto something?

    Comment by DanDan | June 21, 2010

  11. Welcome Dan,

    as for the whole Cyberman scene, all I can say is if you’ve missed something, so have I, as by my understanding a Cyberman doesn’t work like that. As you said, all the eps featuring 10 showed that a Cyberman required the implanting of a brain (not the whole head) to make it work.

    Of course there’s always the “get out jail” card of saying the ones in all the 10 eps were from the alternate universe, but the design of that helmet was exactly the same as those last season.

    Having said that though, this is by no means the first time they’ve changed the rules for Cybermen, take a quick look at the info over at the Tardis Wiki and you’ll see what I mean;

    Classic Cybermen

    New Series Cybermen

    Comment by develish1 | June 21, 2010

  12. Hey thanx for them links, explained alot and i understand it more now. Thats a really good site for info i have bookmarked it 🙂 thanx again 🙂

    Comment by DanDan | June 22, 2010

  13. You’re welcome Dan,

    and you’re right, it is a great site for info. Although do remember it is a user compiled site, as all wiki’s are, so it can’t all be taken as gospel, but most of the contributions are from fans so they know their stuff.

    Comment by develish1 | June 22, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

