develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Love conquers all…….

Don’t blame me for the sappy title, I’m just quoting what hubby said at the end of this weeks episode of DW. As always, possible spoilers may follow……….

This weeks episode, titled The Lodger, see’s the Doctor playing house. After discovering something odd about a particular property, he goes to try and investigate. The minute he steps out of the Tardis though, it starts to de-materialise. The Tardis then gets stuck in a loop, repeatedly trying to materialise, but failing, leaving Amy stuck inside, and the Doctor stuck on Earth.

On discovering that the occupant of the flat below where the odd signals are coming from is looking for a lodger, the Doctor turns up on the doorstep with a bag of cash and moves in. Since he’s no idea what’s going on, he doesn’t even dare to use his sonic screwdriver for fear of giving himself away. Plus he only has limited access to the Tardis functions, via a mobile phone style ear-piece through which he can talk to Amy, so he’s a bit stuck. He therefore decides to play at being “normal” for a while, and simply keep watch until he can figure things out.

original image courtesy of the BBC’s Doctor Who site

As the Doctor investigates further, with a little help from Amy, he discovers that despite all outward appearances, there really isn’t actually a flat upstairs (you guessed it, perception filter). According to the building plans it is in fact a single storey building. Eventually he confides a little in his flat mate Craig Owens (played by James Corden), who it seems is in love with his female best friend, but refuses to admit it. In the end though, it’s not actually the Doctor who saves the day. I think that’s enough on this, as any more would mean giving you pretty much the whole plot, lol.

I will say though, that I enjoyed this episode. I thought it was fun and entertaining, and showed off the Doctors quirky way of dealing with things beautifully. It also gave Matt Smith an excuse to put his football boots on again too. Oh, for those who don’t know, Matt actually planned to be a professional football player, and played for the youth teams of Northampton Town F.C., Nottingham Forest F.C. and Leicester City F.C. Apparently though, a back injury meant he couldn’t pursue that career. See, you can even learn stuff here, lol.

Anyway, on to today’s DT pic. As has been the case quite often lately, I can’t recall where I got this from. The file name though, claims it’s an “on set” pic taken during the filming of The Runaway Bride. What’s visible in the background would seem to support that, as it looks like it’s from when they were filming the rooftop scene….

Who cares though really? I’m just loving that smile, and I know you lot will too.  *thud*

June 14, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , , ,

6 Comments

  1. Oooh, that smile!

    And, er, interesting ‘creases’! ; )

    Now, if someone could just set a nice comfy mattress down, I’ll settle in the gutter.
    Thank you.

    Comment by whogal | June 14, 2010

  2. lol, don’t mind me. As you know I keep the floor nicely padded for “emergencies”.

    Besides, I’ve been digging around over at Teaspoon again, trust me, from where I’m sitting right now, the gutter is UP! 😳

    Comment by develish1 | June 14, 2010

  3. Jolly good!

    *THUD*
    *SPLAT*
    Damn. Missed that mattress.

    Oh Dev, you bad girl, you!

    Don’t despair, though – as Oscar Wilde said:

    “We are all lying in the gutter, but some of us are gazing at the stars!”

    Comment by whogal | June 14, 2010

    • oh I’m looking, I’m looking a lot, lol.

      And thank you again, very much for sending me this pic, it’s adorable

      Comment by develish1 | June 14, 2010

  4. I know, kinda magnetic, isn’t it?!

    ANd you’re most welcome – it is, indeed a very fine pic. Such cuteness.

    Comment by whogal | June 16, 2010

  5. ..I meant the crease-trail is magnetic! 😉

    Comment by whogal | June 16, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

