develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Vincent and the Doctor

I realise I never bothered posting anything about last weeks episode of DW, and while I know I should really remedy that, I feel I can’t. The reason being that I don’t have much to say, other than that I found it disappointing and in parts quite dull, and with a “surprise” ending every fan has seen coming since episode 1. After all, what the hell else could cause the kind of explosion that would rip a whole right through space and time itself? And so, leaving that hanging so at not to spoil things for any who haven’t yet seen it, lets get to this weeks shall we…….

This week saw a return to form in my view, excitement and emotion in good measure, with Vincent Van Gogh, and an invisible monster! As always I’ll try to keep the spoilers to a minimum as I know some of my readers wont get to see it just yet.

The episode starts with the Doctor and Amy wandering around the Musee d’Orsay looking at their collection of Van Gogh paintings, only to spot something in one of them that really shouldn’t be there. So of course it’s back to the Tardis, and off to see Vincent to figure out what’s going on.

I was particularly impressed with how well Van Gogh was portrayed by the excellent Tony Curran. The likeness was remarkable, and his genius, and madness were both evident. His illness was dealt with sympathetically too, and being a sufferer myself I can certainly appreciate that. Oh and I mentioned emotion didn’t I?

After the monster is defeated, and Van Gogh is treated to an impromptu trip in the Tardis, the Doctor and Amy return to the museum with Amy expecting to see major changes. Hoping perhaps that he’d lived longer, and produced more paintings. She looks around, seeing no new work, and is on the brink of tears…..

Amy: “We didn’t make a difference at all”

Doctor: “I wouldn’t say that. The way I see it, every life is a pile of good things and bad things.” “Hey.” (giving Amy a hug) “The good things don’t always soften the bad things, but vice-versa, the bad things don’t necessarily spoil the good things or make them unimportant. And, we definitely added to his pile of good things”

At which point Amy notices the famous Sunflowers which she had encouraged him to paint. There has been a small change after all…….

screen grab done, and edited, by me

And in one of my yet again almost totally ineffective attempts at linking my posts together, how about we have a pic of DT from an episode in which he met a real, and very famous person? (yeah, it’s a reach, but it’s all I got)…….

original image courtesy of the BBC’s Doctor Who site

Oh, and for anyone unable to identify the episode (shame on you) it’s from The Shakespeare Code. You may now *thud* if you wish………

June 6, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , , , , ,

3 Comments

  1. Oh, cuteness personified.

    Cuteness, thy name is David.

    Comment by whogal | June 13, 2010

  2. This show made me cry. I haven’t done that since David Tennant. The “wobbly set” production values of this current Doctor Who season fits perfectly with Van Gogh’s Impressionism. But it was Amy’s love for the artist, and the actor’s portrayal of Van Gogh’s emotions that won me over. Please read my blog here at wordpress:
    http://lowiczanka.wordpress.com/
    which talks about how Vincent could see things we cannot..

    Comment by Łowiczanka | June 29, 2010

  3. As I watched this episode – wholly and utterly entranced by it, by the way – one thought kept going through my mind. If we ever have a “ginger” Doctor, Tony Curran would be a serious contender for the part…

    Comment by Jacy | August 18, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

