develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Another new old monster……

Hi everyone. Hope the weather where you are is as nice as it is here today, as we have a rather nice 27 Centigrade here today. Anyway, never mind the weather, did everyone in the UK see this weeks DW? (warning, minor spoilers)……….

I always find it incredibly hard to offer much comment about part 1 of a 2 part episode. I enjoyed it, and I’m looking forward to next weeks conclusion, but I can’t really say much more than that to be honest, as most of part 1 was “scene setting” rather than plot, as is often the case with 2 parters. The plot in brief….drilling in the welsh countryside is interrupted by the sudden appearance of a random hole, and the sudden disappearance of a local man into said hole. Followed by more holes, and more people being dragged into them……..

Of course, the Doctor soon figures out what they’re up against, and traps one in order to have a chat with it, which brings me to the new/old monsters, which I did like. As always I was worried when I heard they were bringing back an old adversary, as I knew it would mean brand new make-up etc and could therefore be another erosion of my childhood memories. I was pleasantly surprised, so, meet the new Silurians……..

As Homo Reptilia goes I’d have to say the guys who designed the new version did a pretty fine job. Very realistic, and the make-up itself is so skilfully applied that they actually look “real”, a point mentioned by a couple of the actors in the Confidential that followed this weeks epp.

For comparison though, how about a couple of pics showing the Silurians as they used to look, when encountered by the 3rd and 5th Doctors respectively?

So, still undecided on the story as a whole, since I don’t know it all yet, but overall enjoying it and looking forward to next weeks after such a stunning closing shot.

And now, since I can’t think of a single way to link this back to DT, no matter how tenuous, I’m gonna go with something random instead. Well not that random actually, coz it’s warm here and I could do with cooling down, so how about a little snow?

All originals of todays pics were courtesy of the BBC’s Doctor Who site
May 23, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Random rulz
    🙂

    Comment by Anita Marie | May 24, 2010

  2. Well I was rather pleased with it, lol.

    Comment by develish1 | May 24, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

