develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

And so, to this weeks DW…….

To be honest, I’m not sure where to start with this one. I don’t know if it’s because I was in quite a lot of pain while trying to watch this weeks ep, or whether it just didn’t grab my attention. Maybe I’ll have to go re-watch it later to be sure, for now though, first impressions (and spoilers) are as follows…..

As you’ve probably already guessed I was rather underwhelmed by it really. Without giving too much away, I’ll just say this; this weeks “baddie” should in theory have been the scariest, most threatening thing the Doctor has ever had to deal with, but it certainly didn’t seem that way, at least for me.

original image courtesy of the BBC’s Doctor Who site

I’m not sure if it was the casting or the script but the Dream Lord certainly didn’t scare me in any way. I’m sure the guy is a very talented actor, but to me he just didn’t seem right, too short, sorta chubby faced, not even remotely threatening, ok I’m rambling now aren’t I? Suffice to say, I was not impressed.

original image courtesy of the BBC’s Doctor Who site

Ok, at the start of the ep we find ourselves with Amy and Rory, 5 years on, with the Doctor dropping by for a visit. Then they all “wake up” back in the present day on the Tardis which is apparently not working right, and the temperature is dropping.

original image courtesy of the BBC’s Doctor Who site

Then they “wake up” again and they’re back in Upper Lebworth. Confused yet? Yeah, so was I and so were they. Anyway, long story short, in both places something terrible is about to happen, of course, and they have to figure it all out or they’ll die.

Anyway, my current thoughts on this episode are simply this, it was too confusing in some parts, too predictable in others, and despite trying, at times far too hard, it wasn’t scary. The one highlight for me, which did make me laugh out loud, was this line; “If we’re gonna die, lets die looking like a Peruvian folk band”

And this is where I normally try to tie in a DT pic right? I’m really struggling though due to my general feel of “meh!” as far as this ep went. So I’m going with this picture…..

original image courtesy of David Tennant.com

For those who can’t immediately identify this, it’s the Doctor realising what Captain Adelaide Brooke has just done to correct the time lines after he decided he could do as he liked and broke all the rules to save her.

May 16, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , , ,

6 Comments

  1. Actually, I really enjoyed it.

    The tone was still a bit too ‘slapstick’ for my taste, but I did get sucked into this one.

    It was very ‘woozy’, as you might espect from a dream-based ep.

    I thought the Dream-Lord (and I have my own theory about him) was quite chilling, mainly because he was so casual about the three amigos’ (sorry, couldn’t resist!) fate.

    And my fave lol line was ‘stop talking to me when I’m cross’ – just like a sulky boy.

    Comment by whogal | May 16, 2010

    • I think I do need to watch it again and likely will in a few days when I’m feeling less grumpy and in pain. Thank heavens for iplayer. As I said, these are my initial impressions only, and are almost certainly coloured by my personal discomfort at the time I was watching it.

      As for the Dream Lord, if you’re thinking the same as me……….one word – Valeyard.

      Comment by develish1 | May 16, 2010

  2. Been sick but I did catch the end of the Angels story- havingf them get sucked out of a crack was funny. I’m not sure if that was what they intended bu that’s the way I took it.

    Comment by Anita Marie | May 17, 2010

    • I thought your blog was a bit quieter than usual Anita.

      Hope you’re feeling better now.

      Comment by develish1 | May 17, 2010

      • Getting there Dev.
        Send more DT- that should help

        Comment by Anita Marie | May 17, 2010

        • I’ll be more than happy to oblige, in a while, when I’ve had my coffee, lol.

          Comment by develish1 | May 17, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

