develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

So who IS in charge?

Like most people in the UK today, I’m a bit bemused by this whole election situation. For those who don’t know, we voted yesterday, and woke up today to what is known as a Hung Parliament. But what does this actually mean?…..

Seriously, as a Brit who’s been of voting age for 20+ years, you’d think I’d know all about this right? Well guess what, I don’t, well didn’t, still not sure I really do…….anyway, the thing is you see, this hasn’t happened in this country for well over 30 years, so the last time it occurred I was a small child with no idea about such things as politics or governments.

So off I went online, as I’m sure did 1,000’s of others today, to find some answers. I got mine over at the BBC News website and here’s what I can tell you so far……..

Firstly, what exactly IS a Hung Parliament? Under the current rules here in the UK, a political party must have at least 326 seats in government after a full election in order to officially win and take control. If none of the main parties has this, then there is no official winner. What then happens is either 2 or more parties agree to work together to form what’s known as a coalition government, or we’re forced to have another election.

Obviously while all this is going on, which can take days, the country still has to keep running, so the party who were in charge before the election carry on as before until it’s sorted out. Basically this means that for now Gordon Brown is still in charge, even if it’s only in a caretaker kind of way.

What happens next? Who knows. There are already lots of meetings going on behind closed doors, and doubtless dozens of calls back and forth between all the main parties. The general feeling amongst the press seems to be that a coalition will be formed shortly, but for now, all us ordinary folk can do is wait and see. Scary isn’t it?

image courtesy of the Feed website

And speaking of scary lets move on to a good old Zombie Apocalypse shall we? (yeah I know this sounds like a very tenuous link, but hang in there) There’s a new book out called Feed, which among other things looks at what will happen with social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter after the Rising.  (See, it links back to yesterdays post. I don’t just throw this blog together, ok I do, but it sorta works right?) You can visit the official site to read, or listen to, the first chapter, and see their version of the post Rising web, including version of several website, plus some inventive ads.

image courtesy of the Feed website

And speaking of zombies………………………………oh and both today’s DT pics were sent to me via email, so I’ve no idea as to their originals, but as always copyright is definitely the BBC.

ok, I admit that one is a lousy link as that’s not really a zombie behind him. He’s very stern looking there too, so how about something a little softer to balance thing a bit………..

Yep, that works, in fact I think feel another *thud* coming on……….I’d better go lie down for a while.

May 7, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , , ,

21 Comments

  1. *sigh* That second one’s a beauty! 🙂

    Do you suppose he knows that bloke’s behind him in the other one?!

    I dunno about zombies, but the vultures are out in force.

    Apparently Mr Cameron (and we all know what DT thinks to HIM and the Tories…) wants to form a coalition with the Liberal Democrats.

    Holy cr@p.

    Comment by whogal | May 7, 2010

    • I think, judging by the shirt and the background, that the second one is from Voyage of The Damned *sigh*

      As for the politics side of things, I’m with you on “Holy cr@p”. Don’t know what it’s been like in your area, but around here we’ve actually weathered the recession pretty well under labour, and had a labour MP running things locally too for many years.

      No matter what happens at government level, we now have a conservative MP running our borough, and I can’t help but be very worried at that thought.

      Comment by develish1 | May 7, 2010

  2. Oh, how remiss, I nearly forgot – there’s a new member just joined my “family”! And he’s decidedly un-ursine… 😉

    Comment by whogal | May 7, 2010

    • not a bear? what then?

      Comment by develish1 | May 7, 2010

  3. Yes, you’re probably right about that, although I suppose it could be The Lazerus Experiment or even The Age of Steel, as he wears a Tux in both. *sigh*! But I think you’re most likely to be right.

    Well, our constituency went Blue a while back (with, I don’t think, any discernable difference, as yet) but the other side of the county went Blue last night…

    BUT, on the plus side, we now have a Green locally and also the Yellow (just to stick to the theme!) I voted for got in, so that’s good.

    The borough is still No Overall Control (like the Government!) and they do all right, so why are we fussing about it? Let’s hope, if the Gov does decide to coalesce, that they can work together sensibly and not act like GB’s boys at bath time!

    Can’t you guess? He’s a mini, mini Doctor! I wanted a 12″ (no jokes, please!) but I couldn’t find a reasonably-priced one and I kept losing out on eBay.

    I may try again, then I could have a 10 and a .5! 😉

    Comment by whogal | May 7, 2010

    • I suspected as much, as you’d said you were trying to get one. So, if not a 12 inch (cough) how big is it?

      Comment by develish1 | May 7, 2010

      • HE is 5″ (again, no jokes, please!)

        He looks like he’s been in the wars (well, he has!) He’s the rather beaten-up looking Doctor from TEOT.

        I really wanted a pristine one, but he’s still rather dashing, and he makes me want to look after him!

        Anyway, I always quite fancied my brother’s Action Men when I was a kid – you know, they each have a scar on one of their cheeks (upper, before you ask…)

        So he’s with all the bears, getting some TLC.

        Comment by whogal | May 7, 2010

        • I have a younger brother so I’m familiar with the scars, lol

          Comment by develish1 | May 7, 2010

        • That’s all right, then! 🙂

          Comment by whogal | May 7, 2010

  4. Thanks for clearing up the whole situation… I was a bit confused about the hung parliament thing 😛

    Becky 🙂

    Comment by Becky | May 7, 2010

    • Thanks Becky, although I’m not sure “cleared it up” is entirely accurate.

      I’m still not sure I really understand it, but I thought I’d try to figure it out and try to explain it as best I could.

      I knew I wouldn’t be the only one thinking, to quote a Time Lord, “Wait! What?”

      Comment by develish1 | May 7, 2010

  5. Oh dear.

    I was just reading the email from “NewsNight” about this whole big mess and, when flicking through to the end, misread “Paxman” as “Saxon”.

    Ominous, no?

    Comment by whogal | May 7, 2010

    • nah, that’s just your Who-addicted mind working overtime, lol.

      Just looked again and it seems all results are in, except the one that’s being delayed due to the death of a candidate, and the results for the 3 main parties now stand as Conservative 306 seats, Labour 258 seats, and Lib Dem 57 seats.

      Best guess now seems that we’ll be looking at a Con/LibDem coalition, since Labour would need to get not only the LibDem, but also all the other smaller parties on their side in order to get the required majority.

      Comment by develish1 | May 7, 2010

  6. Do you know, I think you might be right. Oh dear! :/

    And I again, I say, “holy cr@p”.

    We’ll pay for this.

    Comment by whogal | May 7, 2010

  7. To be honest, I think in part the whole election was a farce.

    Some MP’s quite clearly lost their seats, not because they were that bad at their jobs, but because people thought they should already have been sacked over the whole “expenses” fiasco and were simply determined not to vote for them on principle.

    If all parties concerned had booted all offending MP’s at the time, the result today may have been a lot different.

    Comment by develish1 | May 7, 2010

    • Absolutely agree with you – Jacqui Smith etc should have been de-selected before we even went to election – it was obvious many of them would lose.
      I reckon we are in for days of speculation now but realistically I think we can expect another election in a few months time – deep joy!
      Do you think any lessons have been learned yet? Probably not eh.
      On the up side the BNP got well and truly trounced – how fab is that!!
      (I came here via Anita)

      Comment by Jill | May 8, 2010

  8. I just told some of my American Political friends they should read this post.

    I hope they see the Zombie stuff and the DT pictures.

    They get way to serious sometimes

    Comment by Anita Marie | May 8, 2010

    • oooh, new readers would be nice, thanks.

      As for the zombies and DT, well you know me Anita, I might start off quite serious some days, but I generally end on something far more light hearted. Or just yummy 😉

      Comment by develish1 | May 8, 2010

  9. Welcome Jill (and thanks to Anita for pointing you this way) I’ve been over to the BBC News site again and it seems nothing much has happened overnight, although to be honest I didn’t think it would.

    From what I can tell Clegg has spoken to both Brown and Cameron though, which is a start at least.

    Despite the chaos it would cause in the meantime another election would probably be the best thing for all concerned. People who didn’t vote might be more inclined to do so, and those who voted against a particular person, for reasons already discussed, might vote more with their hearts than their tempers too.

    I just hope they figure out something soon as all this uncertainty is doing the economy no good at all, and in it’s current state that’s the last thing we need.

    Comment by develish1 | May 8, 2010

  10. *sigh* Pretty….. Having said taht, not even DT can forfend the dramz to come…
    Ooooh noes. I’m drunk posting a bit, but just wantd to say welcome! The world of Proportionate Representation welcomes you. I’m biased, having grown up with it, basically, but it means if 30% of the country feel conservative, 50% feel liberal and 20% want a Green agenda, that’s what Parliament has to deal with when making decisions! It’s not quick, but it IS very very funny when the deeply religious MP has to sit (because the parties haven’t been finalised and the House is therefore seated in alphabetical order) between the first openly gay and first transgender MP. Or maybe I’m too easily amused. Either-eyether, I favour MMP or STV rather than FPP just because FPP smacks too much of old-boys’ networks and rotton boroughs to me… K, sorry, back into my ranty liberal tiny-country-appropraite world now. 🙂 But love you all for apparently voting Lab/LibDem! And for npreparing for the Zombapocalypse. That was really hard to type…

    Comment by Jen | May 8, 2010

    • Hi Jen,

      don’t think I’ve seen you drunk posting before, lol.

      From the people I’ve spoken to I think you’ll find that the basic “man in the street” would be quite fine with that style of government here, as it forces them to work together more to fix things instead of fighting amongst themselves to try to get the upper hand all the while.

      As to my own personal political stance, I grew up in a typical working class area, with hard working parents, who voted Labour without even thinking about it.

      Now I live in a similar working class area (a small brewery town) and although I’m better off financially than my parents were at my age I still consider myself working class.

      I do however think a little more before I vote than they did, and have on occasion voted Liberal, although mostly Labour as our local MP for several years (until yesterday) was Labour, was not only doing a damn fine job of things but was also a very nice guy.

      As for the pictures I threw in for a little light relief, that second one……. *thud*

      Comment by develish1 | May 8, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

