develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Don’t open your eyes…….

To those who have not yet seen this weeks Doctor Who, no I have not lost my mind again, I know exactly where I put it, it’s in that draw underneath the……..What? Ah, yes…….. right. This weeks Doctor Who, Flesh And Stone (warning possible spoilers ahead)………

Everyone remembers how you deal with a Weeping Angel right? You keep your eyes open, never look away even for a second, and never, ever blink. So how would you feel, standing in the middle of a small forest, knowing there are Weeping Angels all around, and being told not to open your eyes? I’m guessing a bit terrified.

Well that’s exactly the situation Amy finds herself in during this weeks episode. she’s been “infected”, so opening her eyes for more than a second will kill her, and the only way out is to walk through the middle of a group of Weeping Angels while they’re distracted, and hope they don’t figure out she can’t see them.

original image courtesy of the BBC’s Doctor Who website

Oh and to add to the excitement, the crack is back. You remember the crack in Amy’s bedroom wall in episode one, the one that seems to keep appearing every week in one form or another? Well this week we get to find out a bit more about that too. Plus of course we see River Song again too, and get a few more little hints about her future relationship with the Doctor.

I have to say I agree with a comment one of my readers made, in that the Weeping Angels don’t seem quite as scary this time round, but I can’t quite put my finger on exactly why. It could be because this time it was a two-parter, rather than a single episode, as it was with Blink. Maybe it’s partly because the Doctor himself is there to deal with things this time around, which always makes things feel “safer” somehow.

Or maybe it’s that there’s a bit more humour in this story because of the banter building up, not only between Amy and the Doctor but also between him and River Song too. When it came to the final scene I for one laughed out loud at a suddenly very flustered Doctor’s reaction to Amy’s admission. And no I’m not going to explain that further, as River would say “spoilers”. Anyway, overall I enjoyed this weeks episode, and I’m looking forward to seeing the new monsters next week in Vampires of Venice.

Before I go though, we simply must have a little DT right? So in keeping with the Weeping Angels theme, how about the Doctor in one of his brief appearances in Blink, using his Timey Wimey detector? Enjoy…….

original image courtesy of the BBC’s Doctor Who website


May 2, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , , , , ,

5 Comments

  1. I really loved this episode! It was interesting, for me personally, to see the Weeping Angels actually moving, but they were slower than I expected!

    Overall, great episode! And fantastic pic of DT there 😉 I’ve linked you on my blog!

    Becky 🙂

    Comment by Becky | May 2, 2010

    • Yes I thought that too. given that we’ve always been led to believe how incredibly fast they are it seemed odd to see them move so slowly.

      Thanks for the linking too, as you’ve probably seen, I’ve already done the same for you.

      Comment by develish1 | May 2, 2010

  2. I think the Angels were scary the first time around because of the camera shots…they were quick and somtimes they looked off center- just a tad, just enough to throw your eye off balance, that gave you that fright factor because you couldn’t focus on them

    I’m guessing ( because I havent seen the episode yet, but based on what I’ve read ) they may be easier to focus on so that shock value may not be there.

    And as for Vampires- I liked the one from the Tom Baker years, it was a good idea and a good story. I am hoping that this episode doesn’t go all ” Twilighty’ on us

    loved the art Dev

    Comment by Anita Marie | May 3, 2010

    • Yes the Angels are much more “in your face” this time around. Plus there’s far more of them, which should make it scarier, but somehow it doesn’t, well it didn’t for me at least.

      From the preview vids I’ve seen next weeks vampires didn’t look at all Twilighty, so I think we’re safe on that score.

      Comment by develish1 | May 3, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

