develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

The new Doctor, my thoughts this week….

I said I was going to keep watching didn’t I? In fact if I remember correctly I said something like “no power on earth would stop me” with regards to this weeks episode, as I knew the Weeping Angels were returning. So what did I think? (warning, possible spoilers)….

To be honest, what I thought this week could take a while to explain, as I thought quite a lot after watching this weeks episode, The Time Of Angels. My first thought was simply this “I love the Doctor!”.

You can get your mind out of that gutter whogal, that’s not what I meant, lol. I’m almost old enough to be Matt Smith’s mother for heavens sake! What I mean is simply The Doctor himself, the generic form thereof, regardless of the actor currently in the role.

This was initially a fairly startling realisation, but when I considered it further it made perfect sense. I first fell in love with him as a child, sitting with my grandfather staring awestruck at the TV at tea-time, while all of time and space played out on the screen before me, at least that’s how it seemed to my child’s eyes. I remained in pretty much that same state until the series died, and was terribly sad to see it go.

Then I heard about the reboot and my first thought was “they’re messing with my childhood memories here, this is not on!”

original image courtesy of the BBC Doctor Who site

I knew very little about Eccleston, and didn’t really think he looked “right” but decided to watch anyway, and despite my concerns I did  enjoy it, and still do when I re-watch my DVD’s. The phrase “Are you my mummy?” is still a chiller, no matter how many times I’ve seen that episode.

When I heard he was leaving I was surprised, it was a short run and I expected to have longer with this version of the Doctor, but having gone through this a few times with the classic series, again I thought I’d carry on watching and see what the next version was like.

original image courtesy of David Tennant Photos

I heard DT was taking on the role, and again thought “huh?” I wasn’t convinced he could handle it either. Again I didn’t really know that much about him then, but again I was pleasantly surprised. As my devotion to the show continued, I decided I was also quite definitely in lust with DT, but that was an aside, I was still loving the show in general.

original image courtesy of the BBC Doctor Who site

Then he too was leaving, and after such a long stint compared to Eccleston I was mortified. I looked up the new guy online and, along with many others, thought “what!?” I was convinced yet again that it wouldn’t work, even more so this time as I so didn’t want DT to leave.

Which brings me round to last night, and there I was, sitting much closer to the edge of the sofa than I ought to be, breathing a little faster than was really necessary, and loving it!

screen-cap done by me, copyright as always the BBC

Yes, the Weeping Angels are back, so is River Song, and while I won’t give away too much as regards plot, I will leave you with this line from the show to ponder in relation to the above picture…….

“That which holds the image of an angel, becomes itself an angel.”

And that’s about it for today, as I’ve typed far more than I originally intended to do. but before I go, as the above is a grainy monitor image from the latest episode, how about a grainy TV image from the last time we saw these creatures…….

original image courtesy of David Tennant Photos

And remember “Don’t blink. Don’t even blink. Blink and you’re dead!”

Update – 26 April 2010

Seems I’m not the only one warming to the new Doctor. Check out last Mondays post at The Park Bench

April 25, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , , ,

9 Comments

  1. Me and my husband have seen Smith’s first two episodes and we thought they were neat- however, he thought that DT and Smith sort of look alike (?)

    I’m liking the scary/horror elements…and that the Doctor is yelling Geronimo which was my childhood battle cry.

    anita

    Comment by Anita Marie | April 25, 2010

    • hmm, I think perhaps your husband needs new glass Anita, lol.

      Comment by develish1 | April 25, 2010

  2. I’m sorry, I still remain unconvinced.

    He IS good, yes, very good, but I still think he needs more of his own personality.

    I was watching a bit of DT’s debut, today, and thought how he “ran with the ball” straight away and was utterly different from Christopher Eccleston – I guess it helped that the accent was so different, but the personalities are, too.

    And, feel free to say “you’re wrong”, but I don’t think this “Weeping Angels” one was as scary as the last. But it didn’t help that I wasn’t alone, I may have been a bit more absorbed if I had been. It doesn’t mean I wasn’t creeped out AT ALL, just not as much…

    Comment by whogal | April 25, 2010

    • that’s ok, you’re allowed to remain unconvinced, I do however think that may change with time if you’re as much a fan generally as I am, at least I hope it does for the sake of your enjoyment.

      I think after having DT in the role for such a long stint, compared to Eccleston that is, any new person taking on the role was gonna be hard to get used to, and harder for some than others too I guess.

      All I know is my inner 8 year old had a blast last night, and will be there again next week hoping to do it all again.

      I do agree though, about the scary being a bit “less so” than the last time we saw them, but I think that’s partly due to it being a two week story so things are more stretched out, plus we’ve seen them before so we’re a bit less freaked anyway.

      Comment by develish1 | April 25, 2010

  3. OK, who ELSE loves that we all call David “DT” but we use the other’s full names?!

    Comment by whogal | April 25, 2010

    • ah, well, the blog is written by an addict who simply assumes everyone knows who she means, lol.

      Comment by develish1 | April 25, 2010

  4. Ahh, I prefer to think it’s because we’re familiar with him and it’s like a petname! : )

    Comment by whogal | April 26, 2010

    • that works too, lol.

      Oh, did you get my email?

      Comment by develish1 | April 26, 2010

  5. Who else thinks of Cupid when they’re looking at DT with his bow?!

    🙂

    Actually I’ve been thinking of the whole Matt/David thing and there seems to be a couple of things (apart from the obvious!) which may not be to Matt’s advantage.

    For a start, Christopher Eccleston, who I really, really liked in the role, didn’t stay very long and so despite the fact that he was following 9 other doctors, it may not have been quite so hard for DT when he first started.

    Secondly, DT has said that it took him about 4 episodes before he’d relaxed into the role, and so that might be similar for Matt.

    And thirdly, there was a marked contrast between the 8th and 9th Doctors, both in look and accent, and that’s less true, I think, of DT and Matt. Yes, we all know who I prefer, especially in terms of looks, but the accent thing is another “problem”, it’s not different enough.

    He’s still really good, just not David!

    Comment by whogal | April 29, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

