develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Maybe technology isn’t so bad?

I know, I know, my last lot of comments with regards to technology were less than flattering, but a girl can change her mind can’t she?

For the last week my computer has behaved so very well, I’ve managed to get online without effort every day. I’m beginning to think that either there was nothing wrong with the damn thing to begin with, or it’s gonna just die a horrible death in a few days with no further warning.

The good thing about it’s better behaviour though, is that I’ve finally had time to back up all my documents, graphics and photos to a lovely large flash drive that hubby bought me. This meant reviewing some pictures of course…………..

And this is when I really decided I liked technology. Why? Well promotional, professional pictures are all very nice of course. They give you expertly taken pictures, which are either posed for specially, or are taken from the clearest/cleanest bits of the film/show to give the very highest impact. I’ve posted quite a few myself in here, but I sometime feel they don’t have quite the same impact as something less clean and planned.

What’s this got to do with technology you ask? Well without the stuff that’s readily available to anyone with a PC these days, there wouldn’t be such a wide range of screen caps available. And often a good screen cap, when someone managed to hit the pause button just exactly right, will far outshine those so called professional pictures in the eyes of many fans.

For example, the one one the left is a publicity shot, on the right is a screen cap taken from New Earth. I know which one give me the most to day dream about, and it’s NOT the promo……

So off I went searching the net to see what else I could find, and I found this, a nicely taken promo where DT has what could (if you have a mind like mine) be described as a rather filthy look on his face

Ok, fair enough, but what about a screen cap for comparison? Hows this? And yes before anyone points it out, he’s looking a little grubby, and sweaty, but the tongue ladies, the tongue………….

original images courtesy of David Tennant Photos

Besides, I have no particular aversion to sweaty in certain circumstances. Oh dear, did I just say that out loud? Time for another lie down perhaps…………………………..

April 22, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day, Random Thoughts | , ,

16 Comments

  1. OOH, my goodness me!

    I’m in complete agreement with you that promo shots are far too “clean”.

    I quite like shots which are bit rough round the edges…

    And yes, hot ‘n’ sweaty and tongue out… A lethal combo if ever there was one!

    Now, where did I put that damp edition of the Radio Times (other magazines are available).

    Comment by whogal | April 22, 2010

    • which edition would it be that you’ve drooled on so much it’s now damp? lol

      Comment by develish1 | April 22, 2010

  2. http://audioboo.fm/boos/82040-david-tennant-boo-2-it-s-like-if-someone-tells-you-they-fancy-you

    This is a bit “left field” and unsolicited, sorry about that, but I came across it the other day, and I think it just so neatly sums up why I adore DT so much. It’s audio so you get the lovely voice, but you also get a nice pic to gaze at, as a bonus… I do hope the link works. It’s a snippet from an interview with Benjamin Cook who, of course, wrote “The Writer’s Tale” with Russell T Davies.

    Enjoy! x

    Comment by whogal | April 22, 2010

    • unsolicited is never a problem on here. I love getting links to stuff like this as I don’t always find them myself. Thank you.

      and yes the link does work, god I love his voice…………..

      Comment by develish1 | April 22, 2010

  3. Oh, no, no drooling. I promise!

    I’m glad you didn’t mind the link. He does have a delicious voice, doesn’t he? MMMM!

    “It’s like if someone says they fancy you. You think there must be something wrong with them”. Aww! How cute is THAT?

    Comment by whogal | April 22, 2010

    • course I don’t mind. I would’ve thought you’d know by now that I love input here from my readers.

      as for his voice, I think I’ll go listen to that Shakespeare reading again that I posted here

      😉

      Comment by develish1 | April 22, 2010

  4. **GASP**
    Oh my! Well David looks good no matter what, even when changing back from Mad-Eye Moody to Barty Crouch! Did anyone else notice that Barty is almost wearing the Doctor suit?

    He never looked better than in this one from The Unicorn and the Wasp.

    Comment by missdisplaced | April 22, 2010

    • you’re right that’s very nearly a Doctor suit. Oh and I do like your taste in pictures, mmmmm

      Comment by develish1 | April 22, 2010

  5. Mmmmm, the voice…. And is it just me or does Ben Cook look like the wee fella from that hilariously terrible show Primeval?

    Comment by Jen | April 28, 2010

  6. welcome back Jen, hope you had a nice break.

    not fond of Primeval then? I used to watch that, although mainly coz hubby liked it.

    Comment by develish1 | April 28, 2010

  7. Break was lovely, coming back to work, rain and cold not so much. 🙂

    I actually really liked Primeval, but mainly because it was so wantonly silly – my best mate and I used to watch it at uni, and about three weeks ago I got a text from him saying “Primeval is on. There are *raptors* in a *laserforce maze*. WHY DID WE STOP WATCHING THIS???”

    And that sums up Primeval for me, really. 🙂 Sadly it’s been relegated to a dead slot – Sunday 3:30pm or something equally silly, so I never see it anymore.

    Comment by Jen | April 28, 2010

  8. yeah, they did something similar with it over here for season 2, think it was Saturday around 4.00ish, so we missed a few then.

    hubby ended up buying the DVD’s though, so I could always watch them at some point I suppose, if I even find the time, lol

    Comment by develish1 | April 28, 2010

  9. I enjoyed Primaeval – it was such fun! 🙂 I loved the way Ben Miller chewed the scenery, like a pantomime villain, and was very funny, too!

    Benjamin does look a bit like him, but I think he looks more like this guy: http://www.bbc.co.uk/comedy/saxondale/ (he’s in the second picture and he goes by the unlikely name of Rasmus Hardiker – as far as I know, that’s his real name!)

    I LOVE Saxondale, it’s so funny! If you look it up you might be able to watch some episodes online.

    I’m following Benjamin on Twitter – he has an interesting life…

    Comment by whogal | April 29, 2010

  10. See, we all have more in common than we thought. Or are we all just typical fangirls full stop? lol

    Comment by develish1 | April 29, 2010

  11. Er, in the words of DT, in an intereview, once,
    “I don’t know where to go with that”!

    Comment by whogal | April 29, 2010

  12. Haha, aww bless, that Raymond chap looks so gormless! Ah twitter! I must get onto using that more. It is most unparalleled for stalking purposes. Um, I mean, communicating with mates. Yeah, that.

    And I vote fangirls. 😀

    Comment by Jen | April 30, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

