develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Seems Tuesdays are pretty bad too…..

I was all set to have a nice day today and tomorrow, maybe a trip out with hubby, or maybe just relaxing at home together catching up on all the shows we have to record due to his shift patterns, but the world has conspired against me yet again….warning, possible swearing….

I really wasn’t going to rant about this as I said last week, truly I wasn’t, I was going to sit back quietly and hope things got sorted out soon, but I’m really grumpy today so you’re just gonna have to either read it or skip down the page till I’m done.

Hubby’s employers, a very large company that I wont name (he needs the job too badly, although if they keep annoying me….) recently decided to completely re-invent their shift patterns. The old pattern was fine, we’d gotten used to it;

week one – four fixed night shifts, Tues-Fri, 6.00pm to 6.00am, week two – Sun/Mon nights, two days off then Thurs/Fri days 6.00am to 6.00pm, week three – four fixed days Sun-Weds.

This simply repeated with only the occasion odd week thrown in about every 8 weeks or so where he’d have to work a Saturday so it was a slightly different shift for that one week, then back to the pattern.

His new pattern? To be honest I can’t even begin to explain it. Instead of the old 3 week pattern, the new ones runs for about 17 weeks, and is so erratic that he has to have it written down so he can check it each week to figure out when he’s supposed to be at work the following week.

Annoying yes, but then on top of this they’re withholding this years pay increase, which was agreed in advance and signed off by management. Why? Because they’ve suddenly realised they have to give all employees 2 more days annual leave to fit with new government regulations, and claim they can’t afford to do so.

As these extra days leave are a legally requirement, they can’t withhold them, but can hold back the pay increase, so that’s what they’re doing. They’ve made no actual attempts to discuss this with staff and have simply given an ultimatum, accept a cut to cover the cost of these extra days, or we hold off the pay rise till you do.

And then, just to put the icing on the cake, for me at least, they call hubby at 4.00pm yesterday, when he’s supposed to go in at 6.00pm for a night shift, and ask him to take the night off and work a day shift today instead, oh and can you do some extra hours on Weds too please? So the only days he was supposed to be home with me this week, today and tomorrow, he’s now working. So I’m pissed!

Sorry about the language but as my regular readers will know I already suffer with bouts of depression, and have suffered a bereavement recently too. This has therefore affected me rather worse than it might have otherwise, and frankly I can’t decide whether to yell, throw something, or just curl up and cry for a while.

But, there’s no one here to yell at, unless you count the cats who are already in hiding due to having already figured out my current mood is not good, and since I still haven’t done those chores from yesterday, the only things I have handy to throw are dirty dishes, and I’m damned if I’m gonna be a weeping mess when hubby gets home later, I instead opted to get it all off my chest in here instead. I hope you’ll all forgive me.

Having got it all out though I do feel a little better, so lets move on to something much more interesting, and very nice to look at. I’ve been saving this one for one of my worse days, and this certainly qualifies, enjoy…………….

I can’t give a credit or copyright info for this, as I have no idea where it came from originally, although given the quality of the image before I cleaned it up I’m guessing it may have been taken from a magazine.

April 20, 2010 - Posted by | A Bit Of A Rant, Picture Of The Day |

13 Comments

  1. Oh no!!! That sounds really really terrible, and also extremely unfair – not sure exactly what your legislation is, but I’d be hightailing it to a Citizen’s Advice Bureau for contact deets of my local Community Law Centre. Tell them the sitch and make sure the company’s not breaking the law; if they promised the pay rise (effective from a certain date) in writing (even emails / flyers in the breakroom type thing) it should be breach of contract…

    I’m assuming your hubby’s not a member of a relevant union? They usually have a pretty onto it team of people employed just to stop evil management shenanigans like this. Having said that, I was born during the miner’s strike so I grew up aware of how lucky we were to have moved to NZ where unions are, you know, allowed and stuff.

    Bah I wish there was something more I could offer – if any of the management come for a holiday in NZ, I’m more than happy to kick ’em inna shins for you! *hugs*

    Comment by Jen | April 20, 2010

    • Thanks Jen,

      Actually he does belong to a pretty large trade union, but sadly the local reps are not terribly effective, and don’t seem to be doing much about it.

      After checking things out online though, hubby has sent a very polite and carefully worded letter expressing his concerns with regards to it being a possible breach of contract, to both the manager in charge of the whole section, and his local union rep.

      The rep had confirmed he’s received it earlier today it seems, although he hasn’t said what if anything he intends to do. The manager has asked to discuss his letter with him and that’s supposed to happen tomorrow.

      Will let you know what happens, but I won’t be holding my breath on anything happening too quickly, if at all.

      Comment by develish1 | April 20, 2010

  2. hang on a minute!

    was my rambling that distracting no-one noticed the bare chest?

    😉

    Comment by develish1 | April 20, 2010

  3. Here in the States if you don’t like how you are treated by your employer you can just up and die or quit- that’s probably why we all have such WONDEFUL attitudes here in general.

    We are coperate foddder.

    Um

    I noticed the bare chest and the shades and the tossled hair but uh…wait what was I saying?

    Comment by Anita Marie | April 21, 2010

    • are you dribbling? I take no responsibility for keyboards messed up by drool you know, lol.

      Comment by develish1 | April 21, 2010

  4. Oooh, I noticed, but then I tried to type and all I could do was dribble on my keyboard… Have hidden the pic above text now and I can be a bit more coherent mljshadfobwbg oops scrolled up. 😀

    Comment by Jen | April 21, 2010

    • I should hope you can’t be very coherent looking at THAT, why on earth do you think I posted it? lol

      Comment by develish1 | April 21, 2010

  5. Firstly, I’m so sorry to hear of your woes, that really doesn’t sound fair to me, and it strikes (no pun intended!) me that the
    Union needs to get its collective finger out!

    And secondly. SQUEEE! Yes, I’ve seen it before but WOW, it bares (sorry, bears) repeating!
    I know it’s from when he filmed his first Doctor Who, alas between takes… It appeared in ‘The Writer’s Tale’. What a lovely body, and what beautiful abs…
    (Cue for much naughty dayreaming…!)

    Comment by whogal | April 21, 2010

    • lol, I think Anita Marie is still trying to get her brain back into focus after gazing at this pic.

      Comment by develish1 | April 21, 2010

  6. squeeeeeee!!!!

    Comment by Anita Marie | April 22, 2010

    • There seems to be a lot of that going on around here, wonder why……..you think it’s the pictures?

      Comment by develish1 | April 22, 2010

  7. I’m sorry, but it’s only polite to SQUEEE! especially in the face (or chest, or abs) of such loveliness….

    Comment by whogal | April 22, 2010

  8. I know what you mean. I keep coming back to look at this one myself. Gotta be careful though, a keyboard can only take so much drool you know.

    Comment by develish1 | April 22, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

