develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Did someone mention John Barrowman?

During my recent “chats” with a couple of my readers, I realised just how remiss I’ve been as I’ve never included any pics here of the yummy JB.

So lets correct that right now shall we?

for more stuff on JB, you can visit the official site

And then there’s this, which I just know is going to make whogal squee rather loadly….

For anyone who doesn’t know, this is a pic from the 2004 BBC TV show, Blackpool, a rather odd mix of drama and musical. If you can get hold of a copy on DVD i recommend a view, if only to see DT dance and sing. Yes, you read that correctly.

For more info on the show you can visit the BBC archives. This is another pic from the same show…..

original DT images courtesy of David Tennant Photos
March 30, 2010 - Posted by | Picture Of The Day | ,

12 Comments

  1. SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! THANK YOU!

    And yes, to answer your question about JB, he IS as shiny and lovely IRL as he is On The Box… He really is lovely. I was bowled over by him, in fact. I gave him a really big smile, and was rewarded by an equally big smile back!

    He and his sis were very busy as they were signing books, but they were lovely to everyone. It’s funny, but he did go a wee bit Scottish in speech when he was with her… It does happen occasionally, anyway.

    I did hear that he was struggling not to “go Scottish” on the set of DW, when he was working with David – which is funny, cos most of the time David wasn’t even talking in his own Scottish lilt…

    Comment by whogal | March 30, 2010

  2. I knew that would work, lol.

    I saw an interview with John once where he talked about his accent slipping when he visits family in Scotland. I imagine off camera David’s accent would slip and that would likely have the same effect on him.

    You might have seen it of course, but just in case

    Comment by develish1 | March 30, 2010

  3. Oooh video! Can’t see at work so will have to get ‘net hooked up at home and watch there. Woohoo for hometime! 🙂 And DOUBLE woohoo for JB!!! Hehe, have passed this link to a couple of girls in my office who’re now demanding I help them obtain TW episodes. 🙂

    hehe I remember seeing an interview with DT where he said the writers on DW used to deliberately put in words that were really hard for him to say in an English accent. Bless! Actually, do we all agree that he’s hotter with the Scottish accent?

    Comment by Jen | March 31, 2010

  4. oh god yes!!

    I have 6, or maybe it’s 7, audio DW book where he reads them, spent all of my Christmas money on them, but hell a girl needs someone to read her to sleep when hubby’s on a night shift right?

    So, DW story which in itself is fun/exciting/scary, but also half read in his real accent and half his Doctor voice. *drool*

    Oh, and as far as bringing friends along for a visit goes, by all means do, the more addicts lurking around here the better.

    Comment by develish1 | March 31, 2010

  5. DW audio books, read by DT… HOW did I not know about this?!?!? I have a bonus coming up, guess I know where it’s going now… 🙂

    Comment by Jen | March 31, 2010

  6. oh, damn.

    I forget not all DT addicts are in the UK or US. Can you order from Amazon.com or play.com?

    BBC Audio has released quite a lot of audio books recently, and both sites have them at reasonable prices, but to be honest I’m not sure how widely available they are outside the UK and US.

    As a favour to another addict though, I’d be happy to order from either of the above and then send them on to you if you can cover the postage.

    Comment by develish1 | March 31, 2010

  7. Hello!

    I’m back!

    Hmmm, interesting debate – which is hotter – Scottish or Doctor voice??! Well, I love BOTH! I’m greedy, that way. So yeah, you’re right, audio stories are the best of both worlds. So cute!

    On You Tube there’s an old advert for Boots the Chemist (a Christmas one) which I’d seen previously, but hadn’t thought anything of it, other than probably “He’s cute”. He uses his “Doctor” voice, quite a while before he even got the role. It’s scrumptious – and very funny!

    Awww, poor DT, I wish they wouldn’t tease him like that! I wonder what words they made him struggle with? B*st*rds!

    I just bought “Takin’ Over the Asylum” (he’s SOOO CUTE in that!) and “Glorious 39”, so I’ll be drooling over those soon.

    FOr “Asylum” they have an audition tape of DT, and it’s amazing! He’s SO good, wonderful, even at 22. He’s so full of life and energy, as you’d expect. I’m going for an audition later today, so because I’m a soppy sod I’ve brought the DVD with me for luck! 🙂 I can give his wee face a kiss! It’s inspiring and scary at the same time; he’s so good, I don’t think I could ever be as good as he is.

    Comment by whogal | March 31, 2010

    • On the subject of his voice, go check out today’s post.

      Comment by develish1 | March 31, 2010

  8. I can’t WAIT for that, but I’ll have to…. Audition first!

    Comment by whogal | March 31, 2010

  9. Oooh hope the audition went well Whogal!! Excitement! And Dev – will try Amazon and Play, but otherwise my mama’s heading over to the Lank of Uk in June, so I can just put in an order with her (postage paid in chocolate and bubbles). 🙂 Thanks tho, I love that there’s others as fanatical as me out there! 🙂

    Comment by Jen | March 31, 2010

    • don’t forget to check today’s post, there’s part one of one of the audio books there, and a link to more.

      Comment by develish1 | March 31, 2010

  10. Hi,

    Thanks Jen, that’s very sweet. I haven’t heard anything yet, so I don’t think I hold out much hope, really. Mind you my mobile (cell) phone has died and I’m not home yet, and I don’t even have an answerphone so I may have missed a call… Hmm, I really should go!

    Ooh yeah, can’t wait for that! I didn’t go online last night so I haven’t caught up with everything, but as I@m going away for a week with very little chance to go online (as I’ll only have my mobile with me) I’ll miss out big time. Will have to bring lots of DT pics with me!

    Comment by whogal | April 1, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

