develish1

Just a few random thoughts and pictures

Damn Technology! Again!

Just when I thought it was all working fine………………….

it’s apparently not working fine though. In fact it’s looking very much like I’m going to need a new monitor very soon, and having only just bought a new router I’m not at all sure our finances can stand it.

Let me explain, just before I went away for the weekend I started suffering the occasional “black screen” and by this I mean my monitor simply goes black, no picture, for about half a second, then comes back as though nothing had happened. It doesn’t seem to affect what I’m doing, as I can carry on typing and all my text is actually there when the screen comes back, hence my suspicions regarding imminent monitor death. By the day before we went away it was doing this pretty much all the time, about every 20 minutes or so, and was driving me rather crazy.

After my break however, during which time the PC was totally powered down for 5 full days, the problem seemed to have stopped. The first few days after I got back I had no problems at all so I thought it was ok, silly me. On Thursday, after the PC had been on for around 5 hours or so, it started again. Then on Friday it started again after only an hours use, and this morning, will it went within minutes.

So I’m now giving it another little rest, and using our old laptop instead, which is equallt frustrating, just in a different way. It’s slower than my desktop, I have hardly any of my favourites on it, and none of my pictures, graphics etc. So for today at least, all you get is me moaning about the damn thing not working, and none of my large selection of pictures of the yummy DT, sorry.

I’ll try booting up the desktop later maybe and see if it will play nicely for a while, and if it does I’ll pop in and leave some pics then. For now though, how about a giggle? This is the only pic I actually have stored online so here you are…

March 27, 2010 - Posted by | A Bit Of A Rant | ,

3 Comments

  1. He looks disturbingly good as a woman, doesn’t he?!

    I hope your PC sorts itself out soon, I know there’s a way to use a TV
    as a monitor, but I can’t remember just now.

    I’m sure a passing boffin can help!

    Comment by whogal | March 28, 2010

  2. Yes he does, rather freaky isn’t it?

    so far today the PC is behaving, so maybe if I just don;t spend quite so long online each day I can make it last a bit longer.

    Hopefully at least some of my family/friends will send cash my way for my birthday, otherwise a new monitor is simply going to have to wait for a few more weeks.

    Comment by develish1 | March 28, 2010

  3. Downright scary, more like! : )

    Ooh, cross fingers and everything…

    Here’s to a prosperous birthday (and generous friends and relations!)

    Comment by whogal | March 29, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

